Impromptu irresponsibility

As I walked to the mailbox this morning to collect the newspaper, I was struck by how amazingly beautiful the weather was.  The sun was out, the air was in perfect balance of fresh-yet-warm, the bushes in our front patio area were bright green (and some in full bloom)… it was perfect.

Our cute little house

I spontaneously decided to abandon my original morning plan of completing chores (which I hadn’t gotten to yet this weekend because I was out of town for my sweetie’s college reunion), and instead sit outside with my mug of tea and a good book.

So I did.

And it was wonderful.

I definitely made the right decision.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Impromptu irresponsibility

  1. Joss says:

    a great way to spend a Sunday morning.

    Like

  2. barb19 says:

    Sometimes it’s good to abandon all those waiting jobs and do just what you feel like doing; you had the urge and you went with it! Bet you felt so good for taking advantage and for just enjoying the day!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      You know, I really did. Historically, I’ve been one to put ‘work’ before ‘play’; I’m only now beginning to learn how to invite more ‘play’ into my life – and I really like it! 🙂

      Like

  3. rutheh says:

    Sounds like a perfect day to me!

    Like

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    Good for you!
    Right action, right time. Yes!
    (Are those astilbe?)

    Like

  5. Definitely a great decision! I’ll always vote for spontaneous over planned!

    Like

  6. Hallysann says:

    The unplanned days off are very often the best ones 🙂

    Like

  7. deenie12 says:

    Yes! I’ve done that several times in the past few days- the weather has just been too gorgeous to not take advantage of. Chores can wait. 🙂

    Like

  8. Hanna says:

    You have a very lovely house there. And I don’t think your house is little :).

    Like

  9. T. Lake says:

    Did the same irresponsible change of plan thing today, with an impromptu bike ride… but then again, the break I needed was *from* reading. Still, the outdoor mug of tea seems pretty nice. My wife and I have a tiny little house, but the front porch is the best retreat on earth for that morning mug.

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

