A promise kept

A few months ago I wrote about how the city cut down nearly all of the trees in the nearby park, as a preventative measure regarding some insect infestation.

At the time, city officials said they would plant new trees to replace the ones that had to be removed.  At the time, I didn’t fully believe them.  Amid government budget woes, and road work that has a tiny window of opportunity in which to get accomplished, and efforts to reduce crime rates, would the city really, really take the time and use the resources required to replace a significant number of trees?   Really?

Yes.  Today as I walked through the park, I literally stopped in my tracks when I turned the corner and saw no less than eight (eight!) new trees.  Lovingly planted, complete with cloth skirts to help protect their still-fragile trunks, each new tree was placed right next to the spot where an old tree stood.

Here are three of the eight new trees; each one placed to the right of a stump where the old tree stood.

Seeing this new nature made me smile; experiencing the fulfillment of a promise affirmed my sense of hope.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A promise kept

  1. narami says:

    That is amazing! I wish it was common enough that we would never doubt the promise to begin with 🙂

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Narami, I had that exact same thought; i.e., it’s kind of ‘bittersweet’ that someone fulfilling a promise is ‘special’, versus expected…. Alas, it is what it is; so I choose to celebrate the special. 🙂

      Like

  2. rutheh says:

    Recently we lost trees in our city. There was a quote I saw “The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time to plant a tree is now.”
    May they grow tall and flourish.

    Like

  3. barb19 says:

    It warms the heart when we see a promised carried out to the letter – as in this case with the trees. So often we are let down, but not in this case. No wonder your heart is happy!
    That’s what I call good news Stef!

    Like

  4. Hallysann says:

    I’m so glad they replaced the old trees with new ones. You’ll be able to watch them grow and each time you pass they’ll make you smile again 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Hollysann, you are so right! I didn’t even think about that – not only do I get smiles today, but I get smiles with every walk in the park. Thank you for those additional smiles! 🙂

      Like

  5. Joss says:

    oh that is something well worth smiling about.
    walk in beauty.

    Like

  6. Wow, I can’t believe they kept their promise.

    Like

  7. It restores your faith in mankind when people do what they say they are gonna do. 🙂

    You live so near greenery-colour me jealous. 😉

    Like

  8. Pingback: Making the best of it | Smile, kiddo.

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

