Freedom from formality

This week (and next) my company is allowing all of us to wear “casual” clothes every day.  This treat is usually reserved for Fridays only; but for 2 weeks in the summer (usually the week of and the week before July 4) and for 2 weeks in the winter (usually the weeks of Christmas and New Years) a daily-casual-wear pass is granted… and I love it.

Some days I like getting dressed up to go to work; but other days, it is really nice to be able to not have to iron an outfit, or putz with nylons, or be concerned with blouse cuts – but instead be able to simply throw on a nice pair of jeans, a cute shirt or sweater set, some easy jewelry, comfortable shoes, and head out the door.

Today I was at my desk all day [which is an anomaly!], so it was extra-nice to be able to be genuinely comfortable while I worked on a computer for hours at a stretch.

Hooray for casual day!

(Image from the Wall Street Journal, 4/9/11)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Freedom from formality

  1. Christine says:

    Casual days are the best! I swear that I think better and am more productive on those days…

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I do think that I feel more “professional” when I wear a suit or a dress, so for me, they are nice to wear when I’m giving a presentation or am having an interview. But if I’m at my desk for most of the day, writing and working on a computer, I think casual attire really does help me be more productive. A time and a place for everything…

      Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    I agree!

    My last two jobs allowed me to dress casually every day ~ very nice after dressing up for judges and juries for 13 years. 😀

    Like

  3. rutheh says:

    We were supposed to pay $2 on Fridays to wear jeans and the money added up all year.
    Not sure how they spent it!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Some companies in our city have a “pay to dress casual” on random days (usually a Thursday). The money is always donated to the United Way. You didn’t know where your money was sent?? That seems a little, um, ‘shady’…?

      Like

  4. Hallysann says:

    We have to wear a uniform for work. Although I hated school uniform, it is a great leveller. No need to think about what to wear, wondering “does my bum look big in this ?” or having to “keep up with the Jones”. We have a variety of uniform to choose from so there is a degree of personality in what you wear, but it’s still a uniform.
    We often have a non-uniform day, where everyone can wear what they like, very often a themed dress, and we pay £1 to charity for the pleasure of wearing our own clothes for the day.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I actually like uniforms, for exactly the reason(s) you shared – mostly, because it’s a great level-set. Money, prestige, etc. are taken out of the equation when uniforms are worn – and people are judged based on who they really are, not based on what they wear (which, as a hopeless idealist, really appeals to ridiculously strong sense of fairness and justice…).

      Like

  5. Joss says:

    what a great idea for your company to do! Two weeks? Twice a year. Awesome!

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

