Musical memories

This morning my sweetie and I left home for a long weekend with his parents/my in-laws.  (And for those who might be wondering, spending time with my sweetie’s parents [and family in general] is a good thing.  We all get along; indeed, we all really like each other.)  The drive from our house to theirs takes about 3 hours (give or take); and during the trip one of the many things my sweetie and I typically do is listen to music.

Today we spent the first half of the trip listening to the radio.  The oldies station.  And it was actually quite fascinating: during those 90 minutes, as I listened to a variety of songs so familiar to me, I was reminded of many memories associated with each one.

“Cecelia” by Simon and Garfunkel reminded me of my dad, and Sunday mornings.  “Help” by the Beatles took me back to the days of delivering newspapers as an adolescent.  “Jack and Diane” by John (Cougar) Mellencamp found me in the middle of my college campus. “So Far Away” by Carole King brought to mind both the red hills of Georgia, and my first years living on my own as a bonafide adult.  As the songs kept coming, the memories kept appearing; and past stories, long forgotten, were suddenly in my mind’s eye, vivid and bright.        

In those 90 minutes, I was taken on a rather thorough trip through my past.  As we approached my in-laws home and I transitioned to the present, the overriding emotions I felt were happiness, and gratitude.  I’ve had such an amazing life; I have always been surrounded by loving family, caring friends, heck, even thoughtful strangers!  I’ve been wildly lucky in so many facets of my existence.  Life was – and is – so very, very good.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Musical memories

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    The best thing is not simply to be lucky — but to be aware of it! As you are —

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Awareness can be really painful; but it can also be such a gift. (And even the awareness of pain is a gift, even if it doesn’t feel like it…). I’m amazed more and more with each passing day how my awarenesses are increasing…. it’s really quite something. And very cool.

      Like

  2. Do you know what makes me smile even more whenever I heard “Cecelia”? There was a comedy routine I heard once (can’t remember who it was) who broke down the lyrics and really was blown away by how crazy they are.

    “You’re shaking my confidence daily.”

    Like, seriously? You’re still with the chick and she makes you feel this way on a DAILY basis??

    “Up in my bedroom (making love)
    I got up to wash my face
    When I come back to bed
    Someone’s taken my place”

    Wait….what?? How much of a slut is Cecelia if you get up to simply wash your face and you immediately return…she’s bangin’ another dude.

    Anyway…always got a kick out of that routine and hearing that song makes me smile every time.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Okay, so a few things are really cool about your comment: 1) As a kid (like, 10, 11, 12 years old…), whenever I heard the song I literally thought things like, “Damn, Cecelia is heartless!” and “Dude, seriously, man up! Find a new woman already!” I so did not understand why people liked this song… it seemed so wrong to me. 2) When the song came on the radio yesterday, my husband and I had the exact same conversation as the one you describe. Awesome! 🙂

      Like

  3. I love the memories that come flooding back as I listen to music…the good ones, at least! 🙂
    Awww…so relaxing!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      It really is a delight… 🙂 What are the songs that trigger memories for you?

      Like

      • Many songs trigger memories for me because I’ve always had such a great love for music….”Hero” by Mariah Carey flashes me back to being a kid and doing little talent shows, I used to sing that at the top of my lungs 🙂
        “Time of your life” by Green Day flashes me back to my very first play that I did in college…Reefer Madness…there were many songs played at the end of this play but this was the first song played every night so it stuck in my head even more so
        “I believe I can fly” by R. Kelly reminds me of a school trip in 7th grade to Biloxi, Mississippi in which one of my classmates had the tape and played it over and over….LOL
        I could literally go on and on….just so many memories 🙂

        Like

      • Stef says:

        I also really like “Time Of Your Life” by Green Day. I remember when I first heard it, I thought, “Wait – this is Green Day?” 🙂

        Like

  4. That’s beautiful, Stef. What a fantastic feeling that must have been!

    Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    Beautiful post, Stef.
    Music stirs the heart.

    Like

  6. rutheh says:

    Music does heighten the emotions. When I think back to the selection for my wedding dance I cringe if I hear it on the radio and change the station. Color My World by Chicago. I guess one should not make a negative comment on your happy post and good memories post. But you are so right about the music triggering memories, where you were at a particular time in your life, who you were with and what you were doing.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Everyone has their own experiences; you are certainly invited to post yours, even if it isn’t a fun one for you to recall. Do you cringe because you no longer like the song? Or because the marriage ended? Or because it pains you to think about your younger days? Just curious…

      (And P.S.: I’d rather people be honest and ‘negative’ than peppy-but-fake…) 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

