Reduce, reuse, resmile

Today’s smile situation:

As I returned from a walk this afternoon, I saw that the recycling man had come (as evidenced by the now-empty bins). When I saw that he had made the effort to neatly stack the bins at the end of our driveway (as opposed to just tossing them any old way anywhere in the vicinity of our property), I smiled at his kindness.

Two doors down from our house, I noticed that our neighbor still had what looked like cardboard in one of her recycling bins. Hmm, that’s odd… Curious, I looked more closely at the not-quite-empty bin – and saw a pizza box. (Because they are stained with food, pizza boxes are not recyclable in our area, and are therefore not allowed in our bins.) But instead of simply refusing this neighbor’s entire recycling load for the week, the recycle man chose to pick out the pizza box from the rest of the papers/bottles/cans, and take away what items he could. (And then politely replace the pizza box back in the bin.) I smiled at his thoughtfulness, and his conscientiousness.

As I made my way back to our home and started to carry our bins up the driveway and into the garage, my mind flashed back to when I first started living with my sweetie. He was [and still is] an avid recycler, and a strong proponent of conserving resources and doing his part to ‘live green’ in general (and he was this way well before it was a trendy thing to do). When he asked me where he should put his soda can, and I showed him where the trash was, he was a bit appalled by my lack of recycling ways. He immediately introduced recycling into our shared home, and as a direct result of his influence I am now also an avid recycler and conserver. Bottles, cans, paper, water, lights, electricity – I do what I can to minimize the size of my footprint on our planet. So as I set the blue bins down in the garage this afternoon, I smiled at the positive influence my sweetie has had on me and my life.

The Rule of Three, at play in my life once again.Β  πŸ™‚

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in rule of 3 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Reduce, reuse, resmile

  1. barb19 says:

    What a very thoughtful re-cycle man you have in your area, not many would do what he did – they would just leave the whole bin.
    I have always been an avid re-cycler in our house, and used to drive my family mad when I’d scream at them for putting things in the wrong bins! Many years later I am happy to say that the message must have gotten through, because my kids all do their bit for the environment – and are now training their kids to re-cycle. My perseverance paid off!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I have never met our recycling man, but I fully agree – he seems to be incredibly thoughtful.
      Good job for ‘hounding’ your kids to recycle; I’m happy to hear they are keeping the movement strong with their own children, too!

      Like

  2. So nice that you even noticed the kindness of the recycling man. Hopefully he knows it’s appreciated!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I’m a firm believer that intention is the start of everything; and so some day, in some way, I really am confident that the recycling man will absolutely know his kindness is both noticed and appreciated. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Your recycling man is indeed a sweetie and considerate. I wish there were more like him and les “jobsworths” Sounds like he has embraced the spirit of recycling and realizes everyone is not perfect! I try and reuse as much as I can within the home including water. I NEVER throw water away but reuse it to water my plants πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I really appreciated that he was/is so conscientious in his job. I imagine it could be really easy for him to not care – and I’m grateful that he *does* care!

      Like

  4. Joss says:

    In Hamilton, Ontario, if you place something in your recycling that doesn’t belong, they leave the item behind and put a sticker on your bin that says “one of these things is not like the other, one of these things doesn’t belong”. i love that.

    Like

  5. Pingback: A Colorful and Easy Pitch « Blog Archive « Keep or Pitch?

  6. Pingback: Hoarding | Smile, kiddo.

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

