Nature in the city

7:32 am.  I was the first person to arrive at the yoga studio for the 8 am Vinyasa class.  As I pulled in to the empty parking lot, a baby deer sprang out from behind a nearby shrub, bounded in front of my car, and skittered down the road and into the adjacent neighborhood.  I got to see it run/bounce/spring past two houses before it turned the corner and left my line of sight.

As this all took place, I just sat in my car, the vehicle still in “drive”, my foot pressed firmly on the brake, my automobile blocking the entire parking lot entrance.  For the five seconds I watched the fawn, the normal ‘rules’ of city life were suspended; all I could do was sit and stare, completely in awe.

Once I could no longer see the baby deer, I said out loud (to no one and to everyone, I suppose), “Woah. Awesome.”  Indeed.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Nature in the city

  1. carlaat says:

    Yay! Baby deer! So adorable -and yes, awesome!

    Like

  2. Hallysann says:

    Wow your first smile so early, I bet it set you up for the whole day 🙂

    Like

  3. Joss says:

    oh what a precious start to your day! There’s something magical about fawns.

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    How awesome. Talked to my dad today ~ he’s had 4 deer playing in the backyard every morning while he drinks his coffee. I could “hear” him smiling as he talked about them.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Nancy, that’s terrific! Interestingly, after I posted the entry on Facebook, my dad sent me a message saying that he saw a fawn today, too – for the first time ever. Pretty cool synergies all around. 🙂

      Like

  5. rutheh says:

    Awwwwwww. Sweet. Bambi. Nice way to start the day.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I have never seen the movie – and yet, when I saw this wobbly, knock-kneed little foal, that’s exactly what I thought, too. Funny. And yes, a very sweet start to the day.

      Like

  6. barb19 says:

    Fawns are so gorgeous, aren’t they? What a beautiful start to the day, no wonder you are smiling (yes, I can feel it as you wrote this). That was an awesome sight to see.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Family fun via Facebook | Smile, kiddo.

  8. Awww, so cute! 🙂

    Like

  9. Christine says:

    Sooooo cute! What a surprise to see first thing in the morning!

    Like

  10. OMG, OMG, OMG!! How adorable and what a wonderful way to start a day!!!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      The baby was incredibly adorable. 🙂 Maybe if everyone started their day with something baby-related (a baby bunny, a baby deer, a baby bird…) the world might be a more peaceful, compassionate place…

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

