Kindness keeps knocking…

For the past year, I have been participating in a yoga teacher training program.  This Thursday is my final class, and then I’m done!  Graduated.  A real live yoga teacher.  Wow.

I have enjoyed the process and the experience immensely (most days, anyway)  😉  but after the significant investment of time and effort the program has required, I am ready to be done.  Part of me will miss the multi-hour training sessions at the studio and will be a bit sad for experience to end, but part of me is excited to have a significant portion of open time back in my life.

But anyway, back to the point: This week, I’m done with the yoga training program.

This morning, an acquaintance at work arrived at my desk unannounced.  She smiled when she saw me, and handed me an envelope.  I was slightly confused; I didn’t know what she was giving me.  I thought maybe she was giving me a “thank you” card for something, but I didn’t remember doing anything for her that was particularly “thank you”-card worthy…When I looked at my acquaintance with a light smile but also a slightly furrowed brow and an ever-so-lightly cocked head (read: universal body language for ‘I’m-not-exactly-sure-what’s-going-on-here’), she said that the envelope just contained a little “congratulations” for my yoga graduation.  Aww…. How sweet!

Inside was a card with a sweet note, and a very generous gift card to a local coffee shop.  How incredibly kind!

The unsolicited, unexpected benevolence of other people absolutely delights me, and brings genuine joy to my heart.  I will definitely enjoy many weeks of free beverages as a result of this gift; but what will really stay with me is the tenderness and thoughtfulness of the gesture – and that gift will endure long after the coffee is gone.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Kindness keeps knocking…

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    Lovely story, lovely post. AND —
    Virtual congratulatory hugs beaming at you on Thursday, while you sip your cup of kindness.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks Judith! I adore hugs; and I love your imagery of “sipping a cup of kindness”. I will have a new perspective on all of the coffee I drink from that card! 🙂

      Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    That’s wonderful, Stef.
    Congratulations and enjoy the coffee.

    And to answer your question . . . I’ll be “21+” on Wednesday. 😛
    That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

    Like

  3. carlaat says:

    Congratulations, Stef! That’s a tremendous accomplishment – enjoy basking in it!

    Like

  4. Unexpected gifts of gratitude are the best! 🙂

    Like

  5. Oh, that’s lovely! Unexpected thoughtfulness is definitely the best kind. And congrats on becoming a yoga teacher, I’m sure it will be an exciting new adventure for you. 🙂

    Cat

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thank you Cat. Unexpected thoughtfulness feels amazing; I’m truly lucky to have such lovely people all around me. (Present company included.) 🙂

      Like

  6. rutheh says:

    What a nice and thoughtful surprise. Congrats on graduation, too!

    Like

  7. Joss says:

    what a sweet, kind thing for her to do! People astound and amaze me with their thoughtfulness.

    Like

  8. Wow – I get the feeling people really like you.

    I get why. 🙂

    Like

  9. Pingback: A small package of good cheer | Smile, kiddo.

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

