TP Teaser

There’s no delicate way to begin today’s story: I was in the restroom.

As I was sitting, doing what people do in the restroom, I noticed something I had never seen before in a public restroom:

Curious, I leaned forward slightly, and looked more closely:

A date on a roll of toilet paper?  I was completely intrigued.  Was this the production date?  But that seems like an awfully fast turnaround time to create, sell, package, and ship a product – even one as basic as toilet paper.  So if the digits didn’t signify a production date, was it a use-by date?  If so, what exactly will happen if a person wipes with (gasp) expired toilet paper?

I was slightly bewitched by this whole discovery.  I slyly, deftly made my way into many different restroom stalls over the course of the day – and every full roll of toilet paper was stamped with a date.

How had I never seen this before?  And what does it all mean?

Apparently it means that it doesn’t take much to captivate me, and that my curiosity will drive me to engage in some ‘interesting’ actions – like research the mysteries embedded in toilet paper.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to TP Teaser

  1. Joss says:

    too funny. was there someone in the next stall while you were snapping pics? Bet they went home with a great story to tell. hee hee.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I used my iphone on “silent” mode (and no flash); my colleagues probably think I’m a bit odd, anyway – so no need to fuel that fire any more than necessary. 😉

      Like

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    Well, what DO you think will happen if a person wipes with expired toilet paper???????
    I can’t say the question ever occurred to me, but now that you raise the point —
    EEEEEEEK!
    I’m nervous —
    Find out what it all means quickly, Stef!
    😉

    Like

  3. rutheh says:

    I find the imprints and writing on the public bathroom drains, soap dispensers and hand dryers a source of entertainment, thinking about where they are manufactured.
    Seriously. Your post today made me smile for sure and I love the photos, too.

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Too funny!
    I’ve never noticed dates on TP before. Let us know where your research ends up . . .

    Like

    • Stef says:

      The research was contained to the field (i.e., seeing past dates on several rolls); and based on my previously mentioned lack of ill-effect (see second comment reply, posted above), I assume the product meets acceptable standards even past its’ imprinted date. 😉

      Like

  5. There’s no delicate way to begin…but do you often find yourself in a toilet cubical with a camera at hand? 😉

    Lol at the image of you doing your Miss Marple bit.

    Like

  6. Christine says:

    The date, in fact, signifies the date on which the TP has reached the age of majority – thereby allowing it to drive a motor vehicle, serve its country in the military or legally purchase alcoholic beverages.

    Like

  7. This made me laugh out loud! Doing research in the bathroom, are we?
    I, too, have seen dates and codes on tp but never been curious enough to wonder what they stand for…..I can’t imagine tp actually expiring…..That would be very strange.

    Like

  8. Hallysann says:

    Ok, this is insane 😀
    I’ve just been to the “litle girls room” with the sole intention of looking for dates on the side of the toilet paper rolls. It would appear we don’t have dates printed on the side of ours 😦
    However, on closer inspection, there are some numbers printed on the inside of the cardboard tube inside of the toilet roll. They’re groups of numbers but they don’t look like dates to me … The plot thickens.
    Unfortunately, the toilet paper does not !

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Holly, you are too funny! Of course, now you know I *have* to check the inside of the tubes of TP… see what you’re perpetuating?! 😉

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

