A southern kind of day

As a kid, there was a saying I heard that goes along these lines: Southerners move so slow because it’s too hot to move any faster; Northerners move so fast because it’s too cold not to!

Having lived in both the north and the south, I can attest to the truth of this statement.  When I was in Florida, Georgia, and the like, on steamy summer days I found my pace to be a bit more leisurely – both in walk and in talk.  Conversely, when I’m in Minneapolis, Chicago, and other northern cities, on bitter winter days I find I can’t move fast enough!  Everything is run-run-run!

Well, today is a bit of a kooky one.  I’m in a northern state that has suddenly adopted a southern climate; a heat wave settled in yesterday, and today my fellow citizens and I experienced 91 degree (F) heat, but with 71% (and climbing) humidity – that yielded a heat index temp of 107 degrees.  Wow.

So today, I got to be a bit of a Southern girl; I did things nice and slow.  I dialed down my activity level, and took my sweet time with the tasks I did engage in – and it was really quite lovely to give myself permission to just… relax.  Rest.  Go slow.

Aaaahhhh.

Of course, the air conditioning helped dramatically, too.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A southern kind of day

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    Smart, Stef.
    Go slow is the way to go!
    (Hey, I love the way that just turned out, neat. Also true though.)

    Like

  2. Hey Stef, great hearings about those lines! I haven’t never heard of them at all! It kind of makes sense when you say about southerners going slow when it’s hot because it does kinda make people move slow, unless it’s an a southern city! As a southerner myself, it sort goes slow when you live in a town or something like that! Thanks for posting

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Hi Tyler, thanks for stopping by, and for commenting!

      Yeah, some southern cities are a little faster pace than the rural areas; but they still don’t compare in speed to a Chicago, DC, or New York… 🙂

      Like

  3. carlaat says:

    I agree about slowing down in the heat. Oh, and napping in the afternoon, and going out at night when it cools off just a little. 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      It’s funny you mention napping – I was SOOO tired yesterday, and just couldn’t figure out why! In retrospect, of course it makes perfect sense…

      Sadly, the nights are only cooling off to the high 70s…. which is better, don’t get me wrong, but certainly not sleep-with-the-windows-open kind of weather. 😉

      Like

  4. I definitely feel my body move slower in the summer….here in Texas where it’s been in the triple digits everyday where I live….ugh! and still in the 90’s at night….it is now midnight and 83 degrees still AND humid….

    Like

    • Stef says:

      We have also been experiencing some of those extremes (high 90s, humidity that is literally the same as in the Amazon rainforest…); I empathize! Here’s to cooler, drier weather ahead…

      Like

  5. Oh man, I am hanging out for some heat right now. So over the Southern Hemisphere winter. I know, know, its nothing like as cold as yours but a week of torrential rain plus cold is just depressing and yucky! And your theory is totally correct … I certainly am moving as fast as possible when I’m outside in the cold and slow as possible when I’m inside with a heater. Send some of your heat wave over here, will ya? 😉

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I would *love* to send a bit of this heat your way. 🙂 Tell ya what: You send some cold, I’ll send some heat, and we should both receive beautiful weather as a result… right?? 😉

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

