Considerable connection

This morning I met up with a former-colleague-now-friend at a nearby coffee shop to chat and catch up.  We try to get together once every few months, just to share news of families/jobs/hobbies/travels/etc.; to try and stay informed of one another’s lives.  Because we meet up semi-infrequently, I am astounded at how absolutely effortlessly our conversations move.  We spent nearly 40 minutes together today, and it felt like a mere 10.  We talked about a variety of random topics, and yet they all flowed so freely, so organically, so naturally – all of the subjects gently swayed and gracefully floated with one another, as if engaged in a light waltz… I felt completely open and wholly unreserved; I was fully my authentic self.  I felt energized, excited, and enlivened by the presence of my friend – and I loved the person that I was in her presence.  Her delightful, honest, and playful-yet-real spirit brought out those same qualities in me; and my mind relished our conversation, while my heart reveled in the joyful feelings around and between us.  It’s difficult for me to clearly articulate, but there is just something – some essence, some beautiful combination of qualities, some wonderful coalescing of factors – that a few people in my life have that causes me to connect with them incredibly deeply, profoundly, and yet playfully; and to access the very core of who I am.

It’s amazing when I am treated to time with these people, and get to enjoy these experiences.  And such was the case today.  My enjoyable morning beverage tasted even better in the presence and company of my special friend.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Considerable connection

  1. barb19 says:

    I’m glad you had such a good time with your friend, and I know exactly how you feel Stef, because I have one particular friend like that and when we are in each other’s presence, the conversation just flows so naturally and without effort, and we cover many topics. I am completely myself when we are together, I don’t hold back (something I find hard do with other friends). We seem to inspire each other and come away feeling refreshed and exhilarated!
    Because of distance, we only see each other every three months or so, I wished we lived nearer, but we certainly make up for it when we visit!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Barb, that’s wonderful! One of my many wishes is that everyone get to experience this kind of connection. It is so rare, but wow, SO positive and powerful. I’m delighted you get to engage in this way every so often. 🙂

      Like

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    My metaphor for this experience with certain special people is: they speak my language, the language I spoke before I was born. And I speak theirs.

    (Zen ref: koan: show me your original face, the face you had before you were born.)

    To be cherished!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Judith, I LOVE your comment, “they speak my language, the language I spoke before I was born.” I’ve never heard it stated quite this way (I have heard the Zen koan before); and your words absolutely resonate with me, and touch me quite deeply. Thank you for that!

      Like

  3. deenie12 says:

    I LOVE these types of connections. I have them with a handful of people (and it’s a small handful), but that makes them all the more special. My favorite line was- “I loved the person that I was in her presence”. She probably made you feel like the best and most authentic version of YOU, and that is an incredible feeling. 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Nadine, she *absolutely* made me feel like the best, most authentic, most honest, more genuine ‘version’ of myself (i.e., the actual original, not a close copy or facsimile) – and it was (is) truly incredible.

      Like

  4. rutheh says:

    Wonderful description of how it felt to be truly connected to a friend.
    Happy times shared. Makes my day to read about yours!

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

