Car concessions

This morning I took my car in to the shop to get the trunk lock fixed.  Due to yesterday’s slight kerfuffle, the service representative voluntarily chose to apply a discount to my final bill.  I didn’t ask for any monetary compensation for yesterday’s inconvenience; but as I reviewed the invoice before I handed over my credit card, I saw a line that read “Service discount coupon” – and that item reduced the total charge instead of adding to it.

Now, I understand that extending this small monetary gift is a strategic business move; that the slight reduction in my overall charges is well worth the company’s attempt to re-establish good feelings towards them; that happy customers are repeat customers; that retaining one current customer is as valuable as finding anywhere from 4-7 new customers….I’m a business gal, I know the psychology of the service/transactional world.  And while this offer was a smart business play, it was also a kind, compassionate gesture.  The service representative didn’t say anything about the discount to me; I had to read the invoice to find it.  Had I never looked at the bill, I may never have realized what the soft-spoken, gentle agent did for me.  But I did notice, and I was genuinely touched; and I smiled and thanked the man for his kindness.  And he blushed a slight little bit, apologized again for yesterday, lowered his eyes to finish the paperwork and complete the transaction… and then he smiled.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Car concessions

  1. rutheh says:

    Your stories make me smile, too.

    Like

  2. Hallysann says:

    As much as a smile of your own is good, one you share always feels better doesn’t it 🙂

    Like

  3. a gracious gesture, graciously received. You not only ‘find’ smiles, you pass them on, you hand them out. You walk in beauty, my friend.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I try and do my part. And sometimes the efforts go unnoticed (and that’s okay), but when they are seen, received, and even reciprocated, it feels fantastic. 🙂

      Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Sharing smiles makes the world a brighter place:

    * Happiness is contagious, and travels at the speed of light (or sound).
    * When we laugh and smile, our mood improves and daily stress fades away.
    * When we laugh and smile, others are apt to follow our lead.

    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/we-are-happy-because-we-laugh/

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

