Kid logic

Seven boys, around nine or ten years old, were on a water break from practicing baseball.  As I walked past the group, I saw one of the kids swatting at a bee.  The appearance of the insect prompted the querying of who is, and is not, allergic to bees.  The few seconds of conversation I overheard went something like this:

Boy #1: “Have you ever been stung by a bee?”
Boy #2: “Yes.  But I’m not allergic.  Have you?”
Boy #3 (butting his way into the conversation): “I’m allergic to bees, but only a little bit.  My arm gets red, but that’s all that happens.”
Boy #2 (ignoring Boy #3): “I’m allergic to three kinds of trees, and to mold.”
Boy #1: “I’ve never been stung by a bee.  I’m not allergic to anything – but because I’ve never been stung by a bee, I don’t know if I’m allergic to them or not.  I guess I must be, since I’m not allergic to anything else…”

And the boys continued to banter about who was allergic to what, and the symptoms that appeared when each affected boy was presented with his specific reaction-provoking stimulus, and how no one could bring peanut butter sandwiches for lunch last year because there was one kid who would DIE if he even LOOKED at peanut butter….

I grinned as the conversation transpired.  It was so fun to hear the boys trying to make sense out of what must appear to be a highly illogical world…

Then at this point, the coach could tell that the boys were chatting more than they were drinking, and called out to the group to “Hustle!” back to their positions on the field.  At the coach’s directive, I smiled again.  In my mind’s eye, I saw these kids take the direction literally, and dance back out onto the field.

Silly sentiments for a Sunday.

Stef

P.S.  Though not that far-fetched; if it’s good enough for prisoners…

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Kid logic

  1. rutheh says:

    Love the replay of the boys conversation. And where did you ever come up with the hustle video?
    Crazy!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Ruth, interestingly, a friend forwarded me the link a good 6 months ago. I forgot all about it until today – and then (after I finished laughing out loud at myself) I did a quick Google search and found it. Pretty wild, and pretty cool. (In my opinion.) 🙂

      Like

  2. Christine says:

    Thank you, once again, for my daily smile. We sing ‘do the hustle’ around our house all the time!

    Like

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    Stef, this is HILARIOUS!
    Only you could put together baseball and bees and allergies, and come up with everyone
    HUSTLING!!!!!!!!
    Glad you had such a pleasantly silly Sunday 🙂

    Like

  4. carlaat says:

    Enjoyed the video! Feel like I’ve seen a version of something else – Thriller, maybe? done in a similar setting. Impressive!

    Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    Now I’ve got “Do the Hustle” playing in my head . . . and that makes me smile. 😀

    Like

  6. Pauline says:

    I had to laugh at your recounting of the boys’ conversation. Kids are funny. After watching the video my mental image of them hustling out to the field cracked me up.

    On the other hand, the sight of all those prisoners hustling (which in one way or another is how they ended up in prison in the first place) made me sad. All that wasted potential! Was that staged or was it a performance of sorts? Are they really prisoners or was that like a flash mob performance?

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Pauline, kids really are amusing. They have such a fresh (if at times ‘interesting’) way of looking at and processing the world…

      My understanding of the prison video is that it is indeed real (i.e., they are real prisoners in a penitentiary in the Philippines), and that they practiced the dance for the sole purpose of having it videoed (i.e., it wasn’t performed for anyone there, persay). No flash mob, and no family performance. When I saw the video, I was actually heartened by the image of all of these presumably ‘harmful’ men (as in, they caused some sort of harm {or were at least convicted of some sort of harm} working together, peacefully. (And indeed, some even having one heckuva time!) But your comment did spur me to dig into the scene a little bit (thank you for that; I really do appreciate being challenged in my thinking {it’s how I learn and grow as a human}), and I found this information – which actually heartened me all the more. Read the quick blurb in the “About Me” box (middle-ish of the page, on the left side of the screen): http://www.youtube.com/user/byronfgarcia

      Like

  7. Pauline says:

    Thank YOU, Stef, for allowing me to see the whole thing in a different light. I like that someone in this world thinks that we should help inmates become the human beings they are. Now I am heartened, too. I will watch the video in this new frame of mind and feel better for it 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Pauline, that’s wonderful. I’m so glad I could be of service in that way.

      (And as an aside, there is a group that I became aware of that teaches meditation to prisoners; and I absolutely adore their mission statement: “Conservation of human resources is a complementary stewardship emphasis calling for wisdom and compassion in salvaging the human potential and basic goodness in people marginalized in human society.” To me, having prisoners learn a dance is one way to help these marginalized humans re-discover/uncover potential within themselves.) 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

