Exactly who are we talking about?

With permission from my work team, I share this happy hour story:

One of my former colleagues recently had a medical scare in her family.  A tumor.

The doctor was able to remove the lump completely, and the biopsy showed that the mass was the result of a virus, not a cancer.

As our colleague reported this happy news, she continued, “But here’s the best part: Bruce’s virus was papillomavirus – it’s caused by an STD!”  And she beamed a wide smile.

One of the newer members of our team looked a bit concerned.  She leaned over to the person beside her at our big table, and discretely asked, “Um…. Who’s Bruce?”

The other person quietly responded, “Bruce is her dog.”

A wave of relief washed over the newer team member’s face.  She then turned to the larger group and said to the woman, “Oh my gosh, I thought Bruce was your husband!  I was wondering why you thought it was so great that he had an STD!”

At this, the entire table erupted into deep laughter.  (The rest of us at the gathering know the former colleague, and already had the context that Bruce was indeed this woman’s pup.  So we didn’t even think twice that announcing that Bruce had an STD might be some cause for concern…)

I laughed so hard my cheeks hurt.  I felt the delight of the moment inside my lower ribs.  My spirit grew light and bright as I enjoyed this experience with so many friends around me.  In this brief-yet-beautiful space in time, I felt genuinely wonderful.  I really needed this today.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Exactly who are we talking about?

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    I wish I could write this in very very teeny teeny print —
    But I’m with the newer team member, I thought so too, that it was weird to announce triumphantly that hubby Bruce had an STD —
    eeeek.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Judith, I think your response (and the response of the newer team member) was/is a very appropriate and reasonable one. It’s just that the rest of the group already had the context, so we simply didn’t think anything of the explanation – until we got to see it from the POV of a fresh set of eyes. Ah, the difference perspective can make… 😉

      Like

  2. rutheh says:

    Funny funny funny! (I did not know dogs could contract STDs)
    What a good description. I wish I were there. It would have been great to laugh til my cheeks hurt.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Ruth, it would have been great for you to have been there. 🙂 Perhaps an occasion to laugh long and hard will arrive to you today…. or soon…

      Like

  3. Hallysann says:

    Great story 😀
    Thanks to your work team members for sharing it !

    Like

  4. I also was wondering what was so great about it being an STD and then when I read it was a dog, I was like, “Whew….I thought it was a person!”…..Funny story!

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

