Flow

This morning at work I was handed a pretty challenging task.  I’ll spare you the details (they’re unimportant to the story, and probably uninteresting to most folks, anyway [*wink*]); suffice to say at 7:20 am my mind said, “Crap. Stef, you’re screwed.”  But after a few moments of wondering how in the heck I was going magically create something fantastic out of very little raw material, I said (literally, out loud): “You know what?  I can do this.  I can do this.”  And in that moment something shifted and quite tangibly changed, and I began working on the task at hand.

By mid-morning I had a rough draft completed, and was feeling pretty good.  It was starting to come together…

I took a quick break for lunch, then resumed the project at 1:15 pm.  I plugged along, and after about 20 minutes or so I started to feel a little hungry.  Hmm, that’s odd.  I looked up, and saw that the time was 3:15 pm!  Holy crimony!  I had been working on this project for two full hours, and it literally felt like a mere 20 minutes.

I had entered the psychological state called “flow”.  I enter this domain frequently when I’m writing (indeed, it’s one of the many reasons I love to blog), but I don’t experience it often at work.  Now, don’t misunderstand, I enjoy my job.  I work with good people, I get to engage in a variety of tasks, I possess the talents and skills that enable me to be successful at what I do… but I seldom enter this totally absorbed realm at my workplace.  But today, I did.  And I did so after a semi rocky/uncertain start.  How cool is that?

Answer: Pretty darn cool.  😉

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Flow

  1. Bill says:

    I love when that happens! Yes, it doesn’t happen nearly enough. It’s the sensation I equate with the Taoist idea of “non-doing” — getting something done without that extra mental layer of “I’m doing something.” You obliterate the distinction between the doer and the thing being done. And we usually get in our own way by putting up resistance at the start. It’s great that you simply said “I can do this.” And you did!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Absolutely; I *adore* the feeling of not having any distance between “doer” and “doing”. It’s truly a blissful state for me when I’m writing, and I genuinely don’t know what the words are going to be until I see them on the screen – and as I read them I think, “Wow, that’s good!” I have genuine appreciation for the work, in part because it’s not “me” that did it. I know that can be weird to understand – and yet, I suspect you of all people likely ‘get it’. 🙂

      Thanks for commenting Bill; it’s good to hear from you!

      Like

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    Pretty cool indeed. Lucky Stef, you were in Nirvana today.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Well, I’m not sure what “Nirvana” is, but I was in a lovely state of peace and energy. I’ll move past the label, and simply enjoy the experience. 😉

      Like

  3. Pauline says:

    Ah, that lovely, lovely place where you and your task at hand are all that’s real – everything else disappears. Makes you wonder about multiple dimensions, doesn’t it?

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I’m fairly confident there are whole other layers to this world, to our existence, beyond what I am conditioned/used to “seeing”. It’s lovely to get to experience them from time to time… 🙂

      Like

  4. I love that feeling when writing my blog post just flows. I get lost in words. 🙂

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

