Connective cords

Today was a warm, bright, dry, quintessential summer day.  On my walk after work this evening, I passed by a clothes line – and saw an assortment of freshly laundered garments drying under the August sun:

As I noticed the collection of clothing, the very first thought that came to me was my mom.  When I was a kid she also hung wet, clean items out to dry in the summer – and I remember being a small child and watching her clip our shirts and shorts to the rough, thick, strong white cords; then being mesmerized by the view of the clothes flapping and swaying in the breeze.

The immediate next thought I had was of my mother-in-law.  When I met her at her home over a decade ago, one of the first things I noticed was her clothes line in the back yard of her home – and I delighted in her sensibleness, and the gift she provided me as I dried off from a shower with towels that were infused with the scent of summer.

Both of these women have had an amazing influence on my life, and my life literally would not be what it is today without both of them.  I can’t even begin to list all of the ways they have impacted, influenced, and informed me… And today’s simple image, observed in the midst of a very common task, brought deep, immediate, and genuine gratitude and feelings of good-will to my heart and my mind.

I love you two ladies.  Here’s to clotheslines, and all of the powerful positivity they represent!

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Connective cords

  1. rutheh says:

    Hail to clotheslines and the amazing women in your life.

    Like

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    Beautiful post!
    A trio of lovely ladies,
    because of course — you are the third.

    Like

  3. barb19 says:

    Lovely post Stef.
    An everyday thing like the simple clothesline with laundry hanging out to dry – who would have thought it would bring up those memories for you. Just goes to show – the simple things in life still mean the most.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I continue to be amazed at the sometimes-crazy, sometimes-wonderful, nearly-always-creative connections my mind makes…

      And it’s true, the very best things in life are so simple, yet truly priceless.

      Like

  4. isn’t it lovely when the sight of something as simple as clothes hanging out on the line brings forth memories and good feelings of people who have impacted out life. Awesome post.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Joss, it really is. I’m finding the more I relax and pay attention, the more and more I get these little tastes of memories… and I am *so* lucky that nearly all of them are delightfully beautiful.

      Like

  5. Dodie says:

    Thank you for the kind words, Stef. Love you too! Still using my ‘solar clothes dryer’ – clothes out there right now! Also, thank you for the anniversary wishes. We went out to North Point for dinner – good food, quiet time.

    Like

  6. Stef says:

    Dodie, I’m happy to hear you had a nice anniversary evening! Very well-deserved. 🙂

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

