How’d that get there?

Here’s a quick little oddity I saw as I walked into work early this morning:

(This is a candy bar, sitting on the outside ledge of an office building.)

A few things to note about this image:

  1. I am standing in a glass hallway taking this picture.  So I’m in a corridor of a continuous floor-to-ceiling glass pane – i.e., there is no opening to the outdoors.  So no one could have just opened a window and hand-placed this item on the ledge.
  2. I am a full two stories above street level.

So how the heck did this candy bar even get up here?  My guess is that someone with a decent arm gave it a throw last night – and by some interesting twist of physics and fate, the tasty little treat landed face up, right in the middle of the ledge.  Absolutely kooky.

For me, the question now is: How long will it stay here?

It was certainly a slightly surprising thing to see this morning; and it was a fun (and admittedly, curious) way to begin my day.

But then again, this was also an example of just one of the many random things I continue to experience in the city.

Gotta love it.

Stef

(P.S. By the time I went home this evening, the candy bar was still on the ledge…)

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to How’d that get there?

  1. Hahaha….that would be a tempting sight for someone who loved candy bars but wasn’t supposed to have them….Just sitting there behind the glass, unreachable….

    Like

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    Conclusion: Minnesota birds do not eat chocolate.
    Strange, but obviously true.
    I think the heat’s got both of us — and the candy bar too!

    Like

  3. Hi Stef,
    you don’t miss a thing do you?…..always worth a smile, thank you.
    be good to yourself
    David

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Some days I’m observant – but other days the quirky things just reach out and find me. I think this was some of the former, but also some of the latter… 🙂

      Like

  4. barb19 says:

    Could it have been dropped by a bird that had picked it up from somewhere else? Crows pick up all sorts of goodies!
    Curiouser and curioser!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      There aren’t too many crows in the downtown metro where I work… pigeons, yes – but I’ve yet to see one of them actually carry anything. Though I do suppose anything is possible..

      Like

  5. i’m amazed that you still notice that thing and even gave it much thought! i wish i am more observant with the little things around me, feels like i’m missing so much…

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Odee, well, to see some random object in an unexpected (impossible?) place breaks ‘normal’ mental paradigms and routines; so I think it was relatively ‘easy’ for me to notice this one…

      As you are a photographer, I would think you have an even more observant eye than I do, as I imagine you might often be ‘on the lookout’ for images to capture? I don’t know that I’d sell myself so short if I were you… 🙂

      Like

  6. Pingback: Another downtown sighting | Smile, kiddo.

  7. Pingback: Mighty Monday Mural | Smile, kiddo.

  8. Pingback: The power of presence | Smile, kiddo.

  9. rutheh says:

    Wow, amazing. I was wondering.,,,,

    Like

  10. Pingback: A good run | Smile, kiddo.

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

