Um, what was that again?

Grocery shopping early on a weekday morning is a situation where young children are frequently present; and as such, is often an opportunity for me to observe something humorous, interesting, or touching.  Such was the case today.

As I was in the baking aisle (trying to find the ‘right’ flavoring extract for a cake), I heard a young, fatigued, irritated mother instruct her equally young, fatigued, irritated child to, “Sit down. Sit down. Sit down. SIT down. Sit DOWN. Sit down. sitdown. sitdown. Sit down. Sit down. Sit down. Sit down. SIT DOWN. SIT DOWN! SIT DOWN!

Based on the one-sided nature of the exchange, my hunch is that the child wasn’t paying much attention to the mom. Alas, such is the state of many parent/child interactions I hear or see.

I continued shopping (found the extract; next item: tea), and as I headed down the beverage aisle, I passed by several other customers.  As I approached my ‘stop’, a little girl looked right at me with a very serious expression on her face and said in a very stern tone, “Seet dow!”

Now, I hadn’t initiated any sort of contact with this child; I was actually only focused on finding the tea I wanted while simultaneously trying to avoid other people’s carts.  But for whatever reason, this little girl decided she needed to share her learning, and I was the person to whom she chose to give it.

I nodded my head very solemnly, returned the little girl’s gaze with equal seriousness, and said gently but firmly, “That’s right; you need to stay sitting down in the cart.  That keeps you safe – no boo boos.”

The little girl nodded in agreement (and the mom gave me an “oh-thank-you-kind-lady” type of look), and the two of them were off – now taking turns saying “sit down”, and doing so with a level of ease that wasn’t present before.

And as far as I know, the little girl remained seated for the duration of their trip – which was very brief.  Smart move mama.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Um, what was that again?

  1. rutheh says:

    Once I bought a book How to Talk to Your Kids So They Will Really Listen and I think I need to find it before school starts. Say it and mean it.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I’m with you Ruth. I say things once (to both children and adults alike); and then my actions align with my words. (i.e., “Sit down” means, sit. down. Or else we will both wait here until you do.) 😉

      Alas, the mom was really quite young (I’m going to guess barely 20, if that), and the child was around 2 years old, so it probably isn’t easy for either one of them…. I trust they are both doing the best that they know how to do; and I hope they both learn better skills along the way…

      Like

  2. smart move, kind “stranger”, I say!

    Like

  3. Christine says:

    Kids definitely speak another language – and it sounds like you might have some fluency in it!

    Like

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    I love that descriptor of “the look” — Thank you, kind lady! (accompanied by sigh of relief) —

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks Judith. 🙂 It was a silent transmission of gratitude and a hint of release and loosening on her part; it was truly lovely to share with her.

      Like

  5. Smart move Stef. 🙂

    You can babysit for us any time. 😉

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

