SWEET ride!

Coming back home after being out and about this afternoon, I was less than a mile from my house when my car approached this one:

Holy crap, that is so cool!  The antique vehicle pulled far to the right, allowing me to easily get by.  I sped past the driver and his passenger, then quickly pulled into the closest side street I could find.  I threw my car into park, rolled down my window as fast as possible, and leaned out the driver’s side door just in time to snap this picture:

(I was even able to sneak off one more shot before the auto became blocked by pine trees that are around the bend.)

What made the situation even better is that 1) the driver was on the right side and the passenger was on the left, and 2) the driver was at least 70 years old and the passenger was at least 90.

So, so, so, so awesome.

I adore being in the “right” place at the “right” time, and being gifted with such amazing sights and experiences.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to SWEET ride!

  1. Great photos Stef,
    Yeh, seeing someone driving from a different position would be unusual. I assume he was driving on the correct side of the road though?
    be good to yourself
    David

    Like

  2. Hanna says:

    This is a very rare site!
    How did you know the age of the drivers? Such good eyes you have 😉

    Like

    • Stef says:

      The ages of the driver and his passenger are guestimates on my part; but considering they had white hair, many wrinkles, and had the posture of older men (the gentle stooping that is common to elderly people), I’m putting their ages in the 70s and 90s decades. 😉

      I actually do have very good eyesight; it’s ‘better than perfect’ (i.e., it’s 15/20 [20/20 is considered ‘perfect’]). But I’m also approaching 40, so I don’t know how much longer my good eyes will last… so I’m enjoying them while I can. 🙂

      Like

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    Car, and passengers!, all seem very well -preserved!

    Like

  4. I used to volunteer at a nursing home. There was a classic car club that would, once a year, bring in old cars the residence remembered growing up with. I truly believed it was it as much of a treat for me to see those wonderful old machines as it was for the residents. They even got a ride in them! It is wonderful how classic vehicles can put true smiles in the eyes of so many. Thank you for my smile this morning!

    Tara

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Tara, that’s lovely! There is something about the car that almost TRANSPORTED me into a ‘simpler’ (i.e., historically earlier) time. I’ve always wanted to be a 1920s flapper…

      I’m very happy I could share a smile with you today. 🙂

      Like

  5. barb19 says:

    Awesome!
    You certainly were in the right place at the right time Stef! Great photos of that cool vehicle!

    Like

  6. narami says:

    Lovelove antique cars. Well, love antiques, but functioning antique cars are awesome.

    Like

  7. TBM says:

    The car and people seem like characters.

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

