Some fashion I can get behind

Downtown today, I saw quite a few different sights that made me pause and wonder what the heck was going on – but they didn’t exactly make me smile.  For example, I saw a guy who seemed to be borderline homeless, standing on the sidewalk engaging in some bizarre combination of public art/street performance/panhandling.

I was curious as to what he was doing, but I didn’t want to be subjected to what appeared to be a pretty hostile attitude (judging from what I could see of his body language) – so I kept my distance.

Later in the day I saw a large tent set up in the middle of an otherwise empty alley.

Several people were starting to do something under it, but I wasn’t sure I wanted to know details….so I just kept walking.

But then.  At the end of the day, a few blocks away from my car, I came up behind two ladies who were engaged in an afternoon walk-and-talk session.  I was kind of off in my own little mental land, but when I noticed I was gaining speed on them, I looked up so as not to bump into them – and I saw this message on the back of one of the gal’s tank top:

(Click on the picture to make it larger, and perhaps read the message better.)

Intrigued, I went to the website when I got home, and I read, “Hello Somebody is a non-profit brand that exists to impact and change the world through love, passion and creativity. Our purpose is simple: feed the hungry around the globe.”  I then saw that this organization has already donated nearly 1 million meals to hungry people…

Now THAT is something that gave me a smile today.  A big one.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Some fashion I can get behind

  1. rutheh says:

    Very cool message on the shirt and informative as I had not heard of that organization before-smiling in Pittsburgh now!

    Like

  2. Joceline says:

    now that’s worth smiling about.

    Like

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    That is a very nice story —
    But also very nice is that sequence of shots of the panhandler/sidewalk performer/whoever —culminating in the wonderful long shot of the context. Really well done, Stef.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Aw, thank you Judith! I don’t fancy myself a photographer at all, so I really appreciate it when other people enjoy the pictures I take. Thank you for the kind compliment(s)!

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

