What she can do

A few weeks ago my yoga teacher had surgery – a total shoulder replacement.  She’s in her early-70s or so (I’m guessing; she’s never publicly shared her age, but she’s retired, and has downsized into an apartment for ‘ease of living’, so I’m going to guess her approximate age range is in the late 60s/early 70s), and has osteoarthritis, so apparently a shoulder replacement was the best treatment option for her at this point in her life.  Anyway – I have a yoga teacher, she had shoulder surgery a few weeks ago, and today she was back in the studio, leading our class.

Before the yoga session officially began, I was laying down on my mat (half-meditating and half-getting-ready for a kick-my-butt yoga practice) while another student checked in with the teacher, and asked her how she (the teacher) was feeling, how she was healing, etc.  The teacher responded, “Well, I can now touch my nose instead of just my chin, and I can open bottle caps, and I can flick my Bic.”  The student sounded a little confused, and asked, “What do you mean, ‘flick your Bic’?”  The teacher responded, “You know, my lighter.  I can flick the lighter and get a flame.  So I can light candles, and incense [both of which we use during our yoga class], and bonfires, and cigarettes, and marijuana – anything you want!”

Though I was in a bit of an awkward physical posture at this point, I literally laughed out loud when I heard this last statement.  My yoga teacher is so fun (and a little wild); I love it!  I just hope I’m that cool when I’m her age…

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What she can do

  1. Joceline says:

    what a great woman to be around!

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

