Beaming because of beans

Tremendous potential existed at the grocery store today.  Beans were on sale for $.99 a can – and the store was offering a coupon for an additional $.40-off per can, knocking the price down to $.59 a can.  Additionally, I had a manufacturer’s coupon for $1 off of 2 cans, which would bring the price down to $.09 a can!  (So basically, the beans would be pretty much free!)  It promised to be one heckuva deal.  (And if you’ve read the blog for a while, you know how much I like a deal.)

However, when I got to the store, another story started to form.  As I made my way to the bean aisle, I saw that the display had been shopped almost bare:

Can you tell which items are on sale?

As I stood there, poking around the waaaaaaay back of the shelf hoping to find a straggler can (or two), an older lady tapped me on the shoulder.  A little startled, I quickly pulled back, and the woman asked me, “Miss, are you able to reach the top shelf?  I would like to get a few cans of beans, but I can’t lift my arms to reach up there…”  The woman pointed to a different location within the aisle, where more beans could be found:

The assortment is still rather light, but a few more options are present.

I told the lady I could absolutely help her, then asked her which items she wanted.  She and I made small-talk about the relative lack of choices regarding the varieties of beans available to us, but we both agreed that we would be happy with what we could get; the reduction in price was certainly generous.  After the woman settled on the beans she wanted, I proceeded to put the specific cans she requested into her cart.  She thanked me, and headed toward the end of the aisle to continue her shopping.

I turned back to the still-weak-but-now-slightly-improved offerings – and as I was attempting to make my selections I heard the older lady call out to me, “Oh miiiiissss….”  Again startled, I quickly pulled back a second time, and turned to face the woman.  She smiled at me, and pointed to a massive display:

This stack of beans is taller than I am – literally. (If you look closely, you can see a faint figure of a man on the left side of the picture. While I didn’t intend to include him in this photo, I love that he’s there to provide some perspective regarding the size of the display.)

The lady then called out to me, “It looks like we can both have our pick of beans now, can’t we?”  And she took a few cans from the endcap, grinned at me, then walked away.

I returned the woman’s smile, then beamed internally at the both of us: for our mutual appreciation of a good deal, and for our mutual delight in helping a fellow shopper.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Beaming because of beans

  1. rutheh says:

    Love the sequential photo story. Great that the man adds the perspective to the shot.
    Glad no one knocked into the display like the movies.
    What a deal! Going to to be great winter, like squirrels stocking up on their acorns.
    Many times in my life I have aided a shopper with top shelf items due to my height, although I am shrinking! I felt good reading your story.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      “CLEAN UP ON AISLE SEVEN!”
      “Herb, we were never IN aisle seven! I’m tellin’ ya, honest.”
      (Bonus points to anyone who knows what movie that’s from.)

      That would have made *quite* a mess if someone had knocked into this big ol’ display.

      I’m not very tall (5’4″), but am quite spry and nimble due to my small size and yogic flexibility. What I can’t reach ‘honestly’, I can scramble and climb to retrieve. 😉

      I’m glad this post made you feel good, Ruth. 🙂

      Like

  2. Is it from National Lampoon’s Vacation? Just guessing…
    How cool that something first thought to be gone appeared a little higher almost out of reach only to be just around the corner in vast supply. 🙂 Sounds like a metaphor for something…

    Like

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    Hey, Minnesota, it’s a heckuva deal, you betcha!

    Glad, but hardly surprised, it worked out that way. Lovely story, big grin.

    Like

  4. ElizOF says:

    What a beautiful story… It had me smiling… She must have been angel of sorts.; the abundant beans angel! 🙂

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

