My aching back, my grateful heart

My sweetie and I tease one another that we are both falling apart in our ‘old age’ – but sadly, there is some truth to this sentiment.  Apart from the active damage we each accidentally inflict on our bodies (him through sport, me via exercise), from time to time we both suffer due to ‘passive’ damages as well (i.e., sleeping a weird position and waking up with a stiff neck; sitting too long at the computer and suffering from shoulder pain; etc. etc.…)

This past Sunday, I awoke with tremendous shoulder pain; it radiated all the way down my arm and prevented me from fully turning my head to the side.  I took some acetaminophen, begged my husband to dig his knuckle into the muscle to try and release the knot (which he did rather successfully), then set about trying to figure out what the heck happened – so that I could do my best to prevent this misery in the future.

I developed a hypothesis which centered around my desk chair and computer table positioning and height – then yesterday at work I confirmed my assumptions.  My home office space just isn’t ergonomically sound – and while I might have been able to ‘get away with’ poor posture or imperfect equipment design a decade ago, that simply is no longer the case.  My body just isn’t as ‘forgiving’ as it once was.

Tonight as I sat down after work to check my home emails and write this post, my shoulder pain started to re-surface after just five minutes (!) of typing.  Oh heck no… that absolutely will NOT stand.  I assessed what I could do immediately to help remedy the situation – and suspected that removing the arms on my desk chair might provide some instant relief.

I turned the chair over, prepared to complete the task myself – and quickly realized that there was simply no way I could do it on my own.  The nuts and bolts were much too tight for my weak hands and arms to loosen.  So I went to the living room, and asked my sweetie if he could help me.

And bless him, he immediately went to the garage to get his toolkit, and spent several minutes wrestling with the chair; he even missed the start of the ball game as a result.  Yet he didn’t complain; he just helped me with my request.

The chair modification did provide relief from my shoulder pain; but more importantly, the way my sweetie helped me so quickly, so willingly, so earnestly, and so kindly provided comfort to my heart.

I have an amazing husband; I delight daily in my incredible good fortune.

My improved, armless desk chair. Sometimes less really is more. (And the 'sexy' wallpaper in the background is one of the many reasons why #99 is on my 101 in 1001 list.)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My aching back, my grateful heart

  1. rutheh says:

    Ouch! Hope you are feeling better now that you got that chair adjusted. How great to have such a nice husband. I think it is mutual though, from my perspective I think he is one lucky guy, too!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      The situation is a little better now that the chair is adjusted. I still need to get a drop-down keyboard holder (my table is still too high) – that’s on my “to do” list for the weekend.

      As for both of us being lucky people – I agree with you. I think we compliment each other nicely. (And we both know it.) 🙂

      Like

  2. Awwww. What a sweetheart.

    I feel the same way about my hubby. 🙂

    Like

  3. Such a sweet husband! Hope you are able to do without the shoulder pain soon!

    Like

  4. eof737 says:

    Nothing beats having a handy hubby around… I can relate to the twinge as I get them sometimes… Hope you feel better. 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks for the well-wishes; I appreciate them. When you experience back pain, do you have any special remedies you like to try? (Or any that you find work really well for you?)

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

