#74 – kind of…

My manager spent the past two weeks on vacation in Hawaii, and returned to the office with a treat for all of us to try:

My manager’s grandmother has lived in Hawaii for the past several decades, so as a child my manager spent a lot of time on the island(s).  My manager explained that she adored Li Hing Mui as a kid – and now, every time she gets to return to Hawaii, she always make a special stop as soon as possible to pick up this snack for herself.

My manager offered some of her goodies to all of us at work (which is very kind of her) – but ‘cautioned’ us that we might not particularly enjoy this food as much as she does.  (“It’s pretty powerful,” she explained.)  Given that I’m doing my best to remain open to new options, I decided to go ahead and take a nibble of this exotic item.  I mean, when might I have this chance again?

The fruit tastes exactly as the package ingredients describe it; it’s an incredibly salty, dried (dehydrated) plum, that has been married with a piece of licorice, then rolled in a light sugar bath.  It was a very strange taste – I really couldn’t wrap my mind (or taste buds) around the whole really-salty-really-sweet-fruit-anise combination.  It was wild.

Admittedly, I ate only a small nibble of the ‘treat’ before I politely tossed the rest of it into the trash.  (I really couldn’t handle much more than that.)  But I tried it – and I’m very glad that I did!

But I still think I need to try a ‘real’ piece of fruit to fully accomplish #74 on the list.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001, day zero project and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to #74 – kind of…

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    Li Hing Mui sounds rather horrid, but then again, children’s tastes can be very odd.
    Anyway, you only had to open the bag to try it, so no biggie–
    Just imagine if the new fruit you want to try is a pomegranate!
    Here are some instructions: How to Eat a Pomegranate, http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-eat-a-pomegranate/
    Then again, the pomegranate has all kinds of neat symbolism (seeds of life and fertility, silver pomegranates often adorn the wooden rollers that make up a Torah scroll, maybe that was the “apple” that tempted Eve in the Garden, etc etc), and the seeds are a gorgeous color and it can be kind of fun —
    But maybe you’ve already tried a pomegranate 😦

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I’ve had pomegranate-flavored things before, but have never eaten the fruit itself. I was actually going to try it one or two years ago – but then read that the seeds were very apt to stain clothing… so I decided against it. But, I might have to re-investigate this one. 🙂

      Like

  2. Its very brave to try strange food. 🙂

    About six years ago I went to China where every day was an adventure in eating (some good experiences and some not so good). Hmmm . . . you may have inspired a new blog post! 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I can only *imagine* the fare that China offered. Interestingly, one of my other colleagues spent a year in China – and has many wild stories to share. I’d love to read yours. 🙂

      Like

  3. Hanna says:

    You should come to my country, so many exotic foods. My big brother and his wife went to Canada like 5 years ago, and when they came back they ate and ate and ate (they missed the foods here until their stomach ache ^_^). The foods are all full of flavor and spices. Very tasty (with real caution to the spicy-ness!!!)

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Hanna, are you from Sudan? I’ve been to India, and had some interesting flavors there… but I really can’t even begin to imagine what other novel foods exist in other areas of the world. What’s your favorite “unique-to-your-country” food?

      Like

  4. eof737 says:

    Exotic foods are an acquired taste and must be tried with great caution… At least you tried it. 😉

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

