Intention is a lot like Shaft

Stating an intention is powerful stuff, I tell ya.  I must always be careful with what I say – because if I say something, once it’s ‘out there’ in the universe, it usually occurs.  (And I promise, this is the honest-to-goodness truth; I’m not even exaggerating.  I have sooooo many examples of this phenomenon, it’s not even funny.  For instance, consider:

  • My career.  Every single time I have been ready to make a professional move and have been brave enough to say it aloud, I have received a new job.  [This has occurred four different times.]  The slowest turn-around time was four weeks; the fastest was 24 hours.  Literally.  It’s kind of crazy.
  • My meditation practice.  Once I finally acknowledged that I was ready to seriously consider meditation, I was at a boot-camp retreat five days later.  During the experience I began to practice ‘staying open’ to whatever might occur – and as a result, I have had the opportunity to influence nearly 1,000 people (literally), attend subsequent retreats with ‘famous’ meditators, be interviewed by national media… it’s wild.
  • My yoga training.  Here again, when I finally became ready and willing to audibly state that I might (might!) want to possibly explore just the hint of the idea of yoga teacher training,  five days later I was sent a check that covered the cost of a rather expensive year-long training program.

And I’ve had many other instances of intentions manifesting in my life [some not so ‘happy’ as the examples I shared above], but hopefully this gives you an idea of the absolute power stating an intention has had for me personally.)

So, intentions are not to be trifled with.

[As an aside, an intention is very different from just ‘wishing’ for something.  An intention requires an earnest, heartfelt desire, and a genuine commitment to action – and in my experience, both co-occurring is relatively rare.]

When I became brave enough to share my 101 list, I kind of ‘knew’ that I was opening Pandora’s box a bit.  My gut, my mind, and my heart all knew that once I put my intentions out into the world for all to see, stuff would start happening; and new stuff can be uncomfortable, even scary.  But new stuff can also be crazy-fun.  So, I decided I was ‘ready’ (or, at least as ready as I was ever gonna get), and I held my breath, and I pushed “Publish”.  And here again, less than 24-hours later, stuff started happening.

And oh boy, stuff has just kept on happening!  Last night a friend invited me to participate in an outing with her [#32], and this morning another friend contacted me to see if I would be interested in attending a party with her [#23].  As with the examples I listed at the beginning of this post, I didn’t do anything to draw these events into my life – except to state the intention.  It’s kind of crazy!  And a little scary.  But mostly very, very fun.

Yup, intention is powerful stuff.  It’s kind of badass… just like Shaft.  😉

Stef

P.S.  For your listening pleasure.  As I listened to the clip, here are the thoughts that came to my mind [just in case you want even a little more insight into my kooky, fun, eclectic brain]:

  • Hmm, I didn’t expect the flutes…
  • Good g-d, this introduction is forever long!
  • A girl can’t help but shake her butt when listening to this song.
  • I’m kind of glad I don’t remember the 1970s.

 Shut your mouth!  😉

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001, day zero project and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Intention is a lot like Shaft

  1. LOVE this post!!!!! Great job! And I believe I am going to start this whole intention thing 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration especially on a day like today!!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I’m so glad you enjoyed this post! It was quite fun to write. 🙂 Please let me know if anything comes of your intentional use of intentions – I’d love to stay informed. Good luck!

      Like

  2. rutheh says:

    I like how you define intention! Powerful stuff is right. I do remember the seventies, oh my.

    Like

  3. eof737 says:

    Yep, I’ve seen the power of intention work in my life too… and it does happen pretty quickly; especially for things that the universe knows I need not mere wants… 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Exactly. When it’s a genuine, authentic NEED (and not just a passing ‘wouldn’t-it-be-nice-if…’), it’s amazing how quickly things can happen. 🙂

      Like

  4. carlaat says:

    All so true. Enjoying the theme from Shaft while I write this – my marching band used to play this in the stands. All of us flags, pompom girls and rifle girls would shimmy in our little uniforms. So funny! Thanks for the memory!

    Like

  5. Words are really powerful, eh? This reminds me of The Secret, i bet you’re familiar with it. 🙂 Anyway, thank you for writing this, i think i’ll start intending for stuff to happen and stop complaining why they aren’t^_^ but you’re right, “new stuff can be uncomfortable, even scary.” I love comfort and consistency and i dread change most of the time. i think i’m forgetting the crazy-fun part of it!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I’m familiar with the concepts of The Secret, but have never read the book or seen the movie. Yes, intentions can yield some scary, uncomfortable, fun, wild, insane, unpredictable stuff – I truly think that’s why some people (present company included) don’t always ‘really’ want what they (we) claim we ‘want’. Yet when I commit (to it all – to the scary and the uncomfortable as well as the fun and exciting), well then, stuff happens!

      Like

  6. well i’m not ready to get to the scary and uncomfortable stuff yet, so maybe that’s the reason why opportunities rarely come my way, because i’m not willing to accept the whole package. now that’s a good lesson for today.^_^

    you being able to do otherwise is really ADMIRABLE! 😀

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Yes – the willingness to take it *all* (‘good’ and ‘bad’, pleasant and uncomfortable) really makes all the difference in the world. I’m not always willing; but when I am, it’s amazing what can happen…

      Like

  7. Pingback: #96: Get an aromatherapy diffuser for my car | Smile, kiddo.

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

