What a garden grows

Today I went to a part of the city that I don’t visit all that often. As I walked two blocks to my destination, I passed by a community garden:

Though the garden as a whole was clearly nearing the end of its’ growing cycle, a few plots in the space still had some vitality to them. A bunch of vibrant red peppers piqued my eye, so I gently walked a few steps inside the perimeter to get a closer look:

Once I entered the alive-yet-calm space, I got completely sucked in to the garden. I breathed in the wonderful smells of dirt and decay and life:

I felt the contrast of the warm sun and the chilly shadows:

I delighted in listening to the dry corn stalks brush against one another, eavesdropping on their secrets and watching their gentle dance:

And I laughed out loud when I saw the newest crop that a fun neighbor had planted:

Looks like it’s a great growing season.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What a garden grows

  1. nrhatch says:

    Community gardens are wonderful assets.

    Like

  2. rutheh says:

    Everytime I pass by a community garden here, I marvel how the empty lot has been transformed into something so alive and productive! Nice post.

    Like

  3. ElizOF says:

    I had a good laugh over those toy trucks too… Noting beats having a bit of whimsy when possible. Awesome! πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. carlaat says:

    Nothing like the smell of dirt, drying leaves, and sun-warmed veggies! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Nancy Barnes says:

    The toy trucks make me smile… I imagine the wee ones “working” in the garden while a parent tends the plants.

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

