My cup runneth over

Today I had the genuine blessing of feeling the deep vibrancy of my amazingly wonderful life.  In the span of a mere 12 hours, I got to experience:

  • being genuinely, authentically seen by others
  • being valued and respected
  • being liked and appreciated
  • being welcomed
  • being fondly remembered
  • working with truly smart and considerate people
  • working in a job that stretches me
  • working in a job I feel competent in and skilled at
  • working in a job I enjoy
  • having other people share small segments of their truly incredible life stories with me…

Not to mention living in a warm, clean home; complete with a refrigerator full of food and a soft bed and electronics galore; attached to a garage that houses multiple cars (and a lawn mower, snow blower, bicycle, tool bench…); occupied by a man I love and who loves me right back; located in a safe and friendly neighborhood; located in a country where I experience more freedom than much of the world dare not even dream of….

I am in the 1% of people in the world who are not wanting for anything; indeed, I have so much more than I could ever hope for.  The sheer power of this awareness is truly almost too much to contain; my heart and my mind both feel like if one more blessing were added to the mix, I really don’t know how I would be able to process it all.  I dare not ask how I ever became so fortunate, so lucky; instead, I just humbly whisper: “thank you”.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to My cup runneth over

  1. carlaat says:

    That’s a beautiful illustration you found to accompany this beautiful gratitude list! 🙂

    Like

  2. Barbara says:

    I think that the fact that you ate grateful opens the gates letting in more blessings!
    I enjoy your writings… Keep on enjoying life!

    Love from your old friend – BJ

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Barb, your stopping by and commenting is yet one more thing I have to be grateful for! Thank you for reaching out every now and again, and fondly remembering me. Every time I think of any bit of the hundreds (thousands?) of hours we spent together, I smile. (Truly.)

      [P.S. Yuan and Todo say “hi”.] 😉

      Like

  3. Hi Stef,
    “Thank you” is so very powerful. You’ve had a great day, may there be many more.
    be good to yourself
    David

    Like

  4. Beautiful sentiment – Beautifully written.

    Like

  5. barb19 says:

    Stef, that was the most beautiful and heartfelt post I’ve ever read . ..it was so from the heart, and as I read it, I felt my cup runneth over too! The sheer power of being AWARE of what we have can sometimes take our breath away.
    Thank you for a truly inspiring post.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Barb, thank you for your incredibly kind comment! You are spot on: the day felt like I was really living it in/through my heart (instead of my mind, or my ego…) And the awareness of that was (and still is) palpably wonderful.

      Like

  6. Last evening and this morning I couldn’t help but smile. On my evening run, the sun was setting and lit the mountain (it’s just a little one) around me with a brilliant red-orange. It was so beautiful I realized I didn’t want to be anywhere else, doing anything else. The moment was perfect. That got me thinking about my life as a whole and the feeling remains the same. All the way to work this morning, I smiled at the thought. 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      C.B., as I read your comment I easily imagined you in my mind’s eye, running amid a wonderfully beautiful scene. And as I read your last sentence, I found myself smiling, too. So, so lovely – thank you for that! 🙂

      Like

  7. eof737 says:

    Beautiful words and picture… now go share your good fortune and let it multiply!

    Like

  8. eof737 says:

    I’m working on catching up again after a hectic workshop week again. 🙂

    Like

  9. Isn’t it wonderful to realize you have so much to smile about, kiddo! (couldn’t resist) Seriously thought, awareness of who we are, where we are, with whom we are, and all that surrounds all of that results in ‘thank you’.
    keep on walking in beauty!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I think it is one of the most amazing gifts a person could ever receive. I would give away all sorts of worldly possessions, power, prestige, etc. if I could have that level of peace and serenity all of the time. It’s intensely beautiful.

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

