Thanks

Thanksgiving Day is a natural time for many Americans to pause, and reflect on all of the things they have in their lives to ‘smile about’ (i.e., be grateful for).  As I sit in my in-laws home, surrounded by family of all ages, smelling amazing food cooking, it’s easy for me to generate a list of things that currently make me smile::

  • Everyone in this home is physically healthy.  (Which is a true gift; health is such a treasure, and yet is something that I frequently take for granted.)
  • Everyone in this home is free of serious financial concerns.  At a time when so many people are on the brink of loss, we can all afford to make an abundant meal, shop for sales on Black Friday (if that’s a desired activity to do), and be on vacation instead of at work.
  • Everyone in this home is happy.  I hear laughter from the toddlers and the adults, and I see everyone smile throughout the day.
  • Everyone in this home is loving.  While various individuals may have differences of opinion or preference, the dominant tone is a caring one.

And I could easily keep going.  But I don’t think that’s necessary.  My heart is full of appreciation, gratitude, and genuine thanks; a wonderful place to be on Thanksgiving Day, and indeed on any day.

If you celebrate Thanksgiving, I sincerely hope you and yours all have an amazing holiday.  And if you don’t participate in Thanksgiving Day, I still hope your day is full of health, security, joy, and love.  Peace.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Thanks

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    Beautiful reflection, Stef.
    A happy, healthy, hearty and heartfelt Thanksgiving to you and yours —-

    Like

  2. T Scott says:

    One word…thanks

    Like

  3. what lovely smile filled thanksgiving thoughts. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

    Like

  4. barb19 says:

    Yes, you have much to be thankful for Stef and I hope this day continues to glow in your heart.
    Unfortunately, we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here in Oz – but I think we should; (I lived in the States for three years and loved that celebration, it’s so meaningful).
    So I’d like to wish you a very Happy Thanksgiving with all your family. Have a wonderful day my friend.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Barb, thank you for your kind words. I didn’t know you lived in the US once upon a time; I agree with you that this holiday is truly a lovely one. 🙂

      Like

  5. Hanna says:

    Happy turkey day to you too! 🙂

    Like

  6. Happy Thanks Giving!
    You are right health is something we take for granted.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks Piglet. It’s interesting to me that so often I only notice when things are going “wrong” – so I now actively work to notice when things are going “right”, too. I find that things are actually more often ‘right’ than ‘wrong’! 🙂

      Like

  7. Joanne says:

    I love the things that you are thankful for. It’s very easy to take things for granted!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks for reading and for commenting Joanne – I really appreciate it! I agree, it is easy to take so many things for granted, and to not realize/appreciate how many amazing things I really do have in my life. Gratitude is a great remedy to that. 🙂

      Like

  8. MOL says:

    Lovely scene you described. Feel all warm inside.

    Like

  9. Absoluetly beautiful!! We all have so much to be thankful for and smile about! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thank you Melissa! Yes, we are all amazingly lucky people; and I think it’s great for us to pause every now and again and recognize and appreciate that. 🙂

      Like

  10. I love your list of gratitude. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  11. mkmercurio says:

    What a wonderful blog you write day after day! So many things to be thankful for – good health, jobs, family, togetherness, love… they are the things that we wish for and treasure. Happy Holidays to you and yours!

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

