Merry muffin

Back in January of this year, I started a weekly recipe/cooking blog.  I was bored with my standard ‘go-to’ meals, and wanted some variety and newness in my diet.  So once a week for the past 11 months, I have selected a recipe I have never made before (with a few exceptions), and given it a go.  While there have been a few disappointments, I’ve experienced mostly positive results – and even a few fun surprises!

This week I decided to make a sweet treat (instead of a savory dish), and baked some jam-filled muffins.  As I cut into the first finished muffin (to photograph the insides for the blog), I was delighted to see that the jam filling had made a uniquely-shaped indentation in the lower-third of the treat: it looked like the muffin was smiling at me!

I could place some raisin eyes in the upper third of the treat, and have some real fun with my food. 😉

How very fitting.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Merry muffin

  1. this is a sweet example of how what you send out into the universe comes back to you in a myriad of ways.

    Like

  2. rutheh says:

    Today in WV I saw a satellite dish that was a huge yellow smiley face and you came to mind. There was no safe way to turn around and try to photograph it.

    Like

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    It’s a good thing if anybody ever told you not to play with your food — that you didn’t listen!
    Play on, Stef!

    Like

  4. That’s so cute! 🙂

    Like

  5. Joanne says:

    Haha this is too funny! I think it’s great you’ve been trying out new recipes…cooking is just so much fun. You’re right, there are flops once in a while, but it’s just all part of the learning process!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Joanne, I agree, cooking can be a lot of fun! Even the “flops” can be fun, and helpful – they teach me what *not* to do, and they often provide good stories, too. 😉

      Like

  6. shellriver says:

    I love that you see smiles everywhere! That makes me smile too!

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

