Start of the season

Yesterday afternoon the first holiday cards of the season arrived in our mailbox.  As I opened each envelope, I smiled at the friendly faces grinning up at me from the photo cards, and at the personal messages written specifically for my sweetie and me from our friends.  I even smiled at the more generic cards sent to us by various business contacts (our insurance agent, our newspaper carrier, etc.) – while these notes are usually nothing more than a hastily scribbled signature on a flimsy piece of cardstock, the fact that anyone thought of us [and then took the time to share a bit of kindness with us] is truly something to recognize and appreciate.

While I don’t actively send out holiday cards (caveat: I do send a return card to anyone who sends me a card), today (despite being pretty darn sick with a bad, bad cold) I did set up and decorate our Christmas tree.  After many years of having a home void of all seasonal décor, last year I was nudged to trim a tree; and seeing the soft lights and colorful ornaments each evening for a few weeks last December gave me such joy and delight that I decided my sweetie and I should get to experience that seasonal peace once again.

When my sweetie got home from work today, he was genuinely surprised to see the tree in our living room.  Watching his eyes widen and his mouth grin made wrestling with the tall, scratchy tree completely worth it.

So our holiday season begins in earnest.  While these December days can be very stressful, my focus is going to be on living in them joyfully.  Today I’m off to a grand start.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Start of the season

  1. rutheh says:

    A joy to behold. I love the raspberry floor and ceiling and mango sherbet walls, so warm and lovely. A very Merry Christmas tree. Feel better soon.

    Like

  2. barb19 says:

    Your tree looks magnificent Stef, well worth the effort!
    Hope you feel better soon.

    Like

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    Pretty tree! You might take a leaf from Frank’s book —
    He always used to have his morning coffee with the tree.
    Probably tea for you — but that’s okay, it’s about the companionship. 😉

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Frank sounds cool. 🙂 My sweetie and I are gathered around the tree this evening, actually; he’s drinking a rum & diet coke, and I’m enjoying a cup of cocoa. Yum.

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

