Eavesdropping…

…is defined as “listening secretly to a private conversation.”  So if a conversation occurs at a normal volume in a public place (or, alternatively, as an announcement over a loudspeaker), it’s not really eavesdropping, is it?  😉

Today during a trip to the airport I heard two verbal exchanges that made me pause, then smile:

1) A middle aged man (in his 40s or so) sat chatting with a very elderly woman (in her mid 90s).  After they exchanged stories of where they had each traveled and what they had each seen, they turned their attention to places they would each like to visit in the future.  The woman mentioned something about Paris, and the man responded, “Oh, I’m going there next summer, when they celebrate their Fourth of July.”  The woman looked at the man, both slightly bemused and slightly bothered.  Exactly.  Oh, buddy…

2) Lost in the middle of quite an engaging book (A Walk In The Woods by Bill Bryson [should anyone be looking for an informative, engaging, and dryly humorous novel about hiking the Appalachian Trail]), my ears picked up on an earnest-and-unintentionally amusing airline announcement: “We’re faced with an overbooked situation today, and are looking for two passengers who are willing to give up their seats to Cancun.”  Click.  No more explanation or information offered.  It’s as if the airline expected people to hop out of their chairs, hands raised, clamoring, “Oooh, oooh, me, me!  Pick me! Take my seat! I don’t really want to leave this cold, gray state for the warm, sunny beaches of Cancun.  Choose me!  Pleeeease?”

Rather amusing breaks in an otherwise ordinary day.  I’ll take ’em.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eavesdropping…

  1. Christine says:

    Happy holidays to you, Stef! 🙂

    Like

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    Bill Bryson’s book is bound to make you smile, Kiddo!
    Hope your trip to wherever is an unqualified success, and your holidays are the same —

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I’m halfway through Bryson’s book – and am really enjoying it. I’m curious to see how Part 2 unfolds…

      The travel was uneventful (flights went off without a hitch), and the time with family was good. My holiday continues until this coming Monday – which is a gift unto itself! 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

