Relief in renunciation

I read a magazine article today about how to prevent a “money disaster” – i.e., how to keep track of valuables and their worth for the purposes of filing a claim with an insurance company, should a real disaster (flood, tornado, fire, etc.) actually occur. I believe that appropriate planning is wise and prudent, so I reviewed the list of valuables and the accompanying documentation suggested by the author.

As I read down each column (cameras/photography equipment, china/crystal, collectibles [coins/stamps/rare books], electronics, fine art, furniture, furs, musical instruments, sports memorabilia, jewelry), I grew more and more relieved. I own very few items considered to be ‘valuables’; of the items I do own, I wouldn’t be emotionally destroyed (or logistically put-out) if they were suddenly removed from my life. Yes, my husband and I own a nice TV and some good computer devices – but I’d be just as happy in life with no TV, and if I had to get a new computer I would just consider it the universe’s way of letting me know I was due for an upgrade.  🙂  Our home has furniture in it – but nothing ridiculously expensive or precious. Everything we have (bed, dressers, chairs, sofa) can be pretty easily replaced; and we could always sleep on an air mattress and sit on floor cushions in the interim. (I’ve certainly done it before…) Regarding musical instruments, my husband and I have various and assorted instruments throughout the house (a few guitars, a mandolin, an upright bass, maybe even a bass guitar) – but we haven’t played them in years (literally), so clearly they are not too ‘important’ to us. As far as jewelry, I own one nice piece (my wedding ring) – and I like it a lot; but I love my husband, not it. If the ring were stolen, I’d be a little sad; but the loss of the ring doesn’t mean the loss of what the ring represents.

As I reached the end of the page, I learned that I don’t own a lot of treasures. No real surprise there. More importantly, I learned (or perhaps, affirmed) that I don’t need a lot of treasures in order to have a ‘valuable’ life. In fact, I really don’t want a lot of treasures. I want meaning, not things.

And it looks like that’s exactly what I do have. And that truly makes me happy.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Relief in renunciation

  1. isn’t it wonderful to realize your life is filled with the “stuff” that matters to you?

    Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    Same here, Stef ~ my life has value without being filled with Stuff of value. 😀

    Like

  3. Oh, if only I could do number 5. 🙂

    Great post Stef.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      #2 is the one I struggle with the most. We all have our issue to overcome. 🙂 At least we are self-aware, and are working to be better. That’s more than a lot of people!

      Like

  4. True treasures can never be bought. I loved your line, “…I don’t need a lot of treasures in order to have a ‘valuable’ life.” It is amazing how full a life can be when it is empty of “stuff”. Thank you for, yet again, a wonderful post.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I agree with you – it *is* quite amazing how a life void of a lot of material ‘stuff’ can be so full of truly meaningful things. I like to remind myself of this analogy (often in times when I’m feeling like I’m in a place of lack versus abundance): If a cup is full of water, it simply doesn’t have room to receive anything more or new. I think the same holds very true for life.

      Like

  5. livingvoraciously says:

    wow! great post! love it. I love my life for what it is and not what is ‘in’ it and that included all these stuffs that people place so much ‘value’ on 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I think it is truly wonderful when people can love what they have, instead of want what they don’t have. To love one’s life for what it *is* (instead of the stuff it contains) is even better! 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

