Part of me re-awakened

There used to be a time when I was into writing poetry.  I listened to The Writer’s Almanac every morning, attended poetry readings and other spoken word events every few months, even competed in a poetry slam (I got second place).  Then one day the urge to be immersed in poetry just stopped; and nearly overnight I ceased all activity with poems.

However.  Today before breakfast I was taking the dogs out for our routine morning walk, when a poem suddenly started forming itself in my mind – just as they had done several years ago when I was living so closely with poesy.  I was pleasantly surprised at how lovely the familiar sensations felt – it was like visiting a dear friend after several years of separation.  Poetry and I picked up right where we left off – no awkward silences or hard feelings.

It was a sweet moment.

I wrote down the poem as soon as I got back to the house.  While it may/may not be any ‘good’ (poetry is so wildly subjective – I dare say that all poems are simultaneously wonderful/horrible, depending on the mind state of the reader/listener), it felt good to create it.  And *that* is the important part.  🙂

Stef

nudges

stepping into the pre-dawn light
crisp winter air freshening my lungs like a breath mint
and coloring my cheeks a ruddy blush

two furry boys at my side
their feet clicking in rhythm with mine
the three of us forming a single unit

allied in our purpose
resolute in our mission
focused, yet joyful

delighting in witnessing the sun gently wake the earth
just as i tenderly rouse them as the stars begin to fade
just as they gently stir my heart to open wider, deeper

exposing it to some frigid winter days, yes
but also discovering the wonders found
in the transition from darkness to light…

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in postaday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Part of me re-awakened

  1. veronicahaunanifitzhugh says:

    Congratulations! I nominated you for the 7X7 Blog Link Award. 🙂

    Like

  2. rutheh says:

    You don’t need a welcome back to poetry as you have been experiencing and collecting and observing all this time.
    Isn’t that wonderful, to have the poem just flow out? “Felt good to create it”, what more could you ask for? But I enjoyed reading your shared words and traveling with you as you met the day, all three of you!
    Would you believe I read two poems at a memorial reading today at the Carnegie Library?
    Drove back from Columbus to be here in time. A young poet passed almost two years ago perhaps you might have seen her on my blog. (http://rutheh.com/2010/09/16/tribute-reading-reception-9-18-10scroll-down-for-information/) Her words live on and touch us as we read them but it is deeply sad. Not sure how I went from your poem to that but don’t worry about using this as a comment, just a communication.
    Best to you and Write On,
    Ruth

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Content that creates itself really is a wonderful and beautiful thing. I try to do less ‘writing’, and more ‘listening’/opening up to whatever might present itself. I’m not always successful (i.e., sometimes ego kicks in and I spend time manipulating words and stories and ideas), but I do try to make it less about ‘me’ and more about what is bigger than me.

      I’m sorry to hear that your poetry experience today was prompted by loss; but what a lovely way to remember a fellow writer. Write On, indeed. 🙂

      Stef

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

