Retreat reflections

I always learn something about myself when I go on retreat:

In the most recent retreat I completed, the primary themes that kept surfacing for me were flexibility and spontaneity (as in, I need to continue to open to these factors in my life, and keep practicing them every day – even in small, simple ways).  These related items have the potential to crop up in a variety of contexts and settings – and one that surfaced for me is my blogging.  Up to this point, I have maintained a strict posting schedule for this blog (daily for the first year, then three times a week for the six months following that).  This experience has been incredibly enjoyable, but I do think it’s time for a shift.  Specifically, I feel like it’s time for me to begin posting to this space when I truly feel like doing so.  I want this blog to remain a place of playfulness, and writing an activity to enjoy – instead of both potentially turning into yet another ‘obligation’ in my life.  As a result, I’m going to modify my posting ‘schedule’ once again – specifically, to drop the idea of adhering to a fixed schedule.  Instead, I want to play with creating writings for this blog as I feel called to do so.  I suspect I will write at least one post every week (and certainly more on some weeks) – but I want to stay open, and see what evolves naturally.

I did have some other awarenesses pop up on the retreat I attended; but the notion of flexibility and spontaneity were the biggies.  Now, if you are a curious person (with quite a bit of free time on your hands) and you want to read the copious and detailed notes I took during my latest meditation venture, let me know – and if I know you well, I’ll send them along to you via email.  [Warning: The document is 15 pages long – so be careful what you ask for…]  😉  Otherwise, I’ll see you back here at some point in the future – and probably sooner rather than later.  🙂

Bye for now!

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in postaday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Retreat reflections

  1. mybrightlife says:

    Stef, I am so enjoying and appreciating the quality and content of your blog and the links in this post to your meditation blog – inspiring. Thanks so much.
    When I took the big scary step into the blogging world last year, a special writer friend of mine said that I need to always remember that first and foremost blogging is something you do for yourself, and if you keep that in mind your blogging will be beautiful.
    These words fit well with your current change of programme. I look forward to Smile, Kiddo in my inbox be it once weekly or twice monthly or whenever you feel inspired.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thank you so much for your incredibly kind words, and unconditional enthusiasm and support – I greatly appreciate them all! 95% of the time I am clear about my blogging intentions, and write for my own benefit/needs/fun; but it’s that 5% that can get me… 😉 Thank you for the smart reminder from your blogging friend – and here’s to keeping our online spaces fun and beautiful. 🙂

      Like

  2. I try to do that as well. Last year I had to blog every day. This year, some weeks I do and others I don’t. I don’t feel compelled to fill the space. I’m glad you’re not giving up blogging cuz I would sure miss you. And I would love a copy of your notes which you are so graciously offering to share.. I’m at josslps@gmail.com
    Here’s to ongoing spontaneity and joy!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Joss, you are very sweet; thank you for all of your kind words and support!
      I’ve sent you a copy of the notes; please let me know if you don’t get them.
      Here here for joy – for everyone! 🙂

      Like

  3. I think the key is enjoying what you share and write about, If it seems more of a chore, it defeats the purpose and it can be hard to find “the flow”. Find that works for you and your readers will truly enjoy your posts.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Very good advice. My “best” posts are the ones where I shared what was on my mind and in my heart in the moment (instead of ‘trying too hard’ to craft something witty/clever). Here’s to staying true to our core selves. 🙂

      Like

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    I would miss your lovely iridescent soap bubbles if for some reason you decided to forego them altogether. Happily, I doubt you will.
    But whatever you do is right for you to do. So go to! And whatever it is, enjoy!

    😀
    Big smile for you, kiddo.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      No, no, I won’t be abandoning this space – I still have ample items to complete on the 101 list! I’m just not ‘making’ myself write three posts a week, but instead doing what feels right (likely at least one post a week, and probably more some weeks). I’m part of a fantastic community here – I couldn’t just walk away from everyone in blog land! 🙂

      Like

  5. Carla says:

    Love your insights! Would love to hear more! And sorry I’ve been away – I’ve missed it but haven’t been finding the time to visit the blogs. And now I’m headed out for a week again! But all is well and I’m excited!
    I’ll come back and do your 11 questions when it’s not so late. Cheers, Stef!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Carla, absolutely no need to apologize for being gone for a bit – it can be difficult to keep up with everything. I’m glad to hear you are doing well! I’ll send a copy of my most recent retreat reflections to you via email. Enjoy! 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

