Remember when….

I am a highly organized person, but not by choice.  Rather, I have to use managerial structures (schedules, routines, systems) to compensate for the fact that I have a completely crappy memory.  I live by the adage, “A place for everything, and everything in it’s place” not so that my house looks orderly, but so I can leave the house on time each morning (and not hunt for keys, my purse, my shoes…). I have master to-do lists saved on my computer so that I don’t forget things like “do laundry” and “pay bills”.  I have a calendar that notes every appointment, vacation, holiday, and birthday for our household – lest I forget that I will be volunteering on Friday or attending yoga on Sunday (never mind the fact that I do these things every single week; there has been more than one Thursday evening when I looked at the calendar and literally said, “Yikes!  I forgot I’m volunteering tomorrow…”).  While these organizational structures are in place to help me function, they sometimes help other people, too.

Case in point: Earlier this week I sent my sister and brother-in-law a card wishing them a happy anniversary.  (There were married a few years ago the first week in June.)  Once I dropped the card in the mail, I immediately forgot about it – until this evening, when I received the following message from my sister:

“So here’s me [my sister] yesterday.
Get home, open card from you [Stef], read it and yell
‘AW CRAP!’
Dial the phone to call R [my sister’s husband]. Our conversation is:
Me: Damnit we did it again!
Him: What? What did we do?
Me: Our anniversary was yesterday.
Him: Oh. Right. Guess I’ll put it on the calendar next year. For the record, you forgot too.
Me: I KNOW! We suck.
Him: Yes, yes we do.”

I laughed out loud when I read this exchange.  When I asked my sister if I could post this to the blog and share it with other people who might find it entertaining (and may even find comfort in not being ‘the only one’ who does these sorts of things), she replied, “Sure. It’s only the 3rd or 4th year that you remembered our anniversary for us.”

At least I have company in the crummy memory department.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in postaday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Remember when….

  1. Pingback: Day 60 « Three Daily Delights

  2. Katie T. says:

    Cute story. I think: When couples are in a great place in their relationship and are the best of friends, they forget to count the years… ’cause they focus on the important stuff. 🙂 Love that your sis and BIL have a great sense of humor. Life can get too serious sometimes.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Katie, I fully agree with you. I interpret forgetting an anniversary as a sign of a healthy marriage, actually: in my opinion, the two individuals are enjoying each other so much that they don’t have to mark the days on a calendar (like a prisoner awaiting release might do). 😉 My sister and BIL both definitely have a great, grounded sense of humor (and world perspective). I’m lucky to have them in my life.

      Like

  3. mybrightlife says:

    Ha! Good to know. We regularly turn to each other and simultaniously ask, “have we missed it again?” Followed by: Whewww… still coming. But then we inevitably go ahead and miss it anyway and neither of us seem to mind much. We just laugh at ourselves together and do something fun to make up for having missed another one. I consider it a sign of a happy relationship. (Weill that is my excuse…) Perhaps the same can be said for your sister’s relationship. Crap at remembering but not crap at enjoying being together and forgetting together!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I completely agree with you. (See the comment I left Katie, above.) I love your sentence, “Crap at remembering but not crap at enjoying being together and forgetting together!” Wonderful! 🙂

      Like

  4. I also use a lot of post-its, notes, and spots to put things so I don’t have to remember them. It’s not that I can’t remember them but I actually want to save my brain space to remember the important stuff, and leave the clutter out of it. I think that’s why post-its, planners and to-do lists were invented. Does that make sense?

    Like

    • Stef says:

      It does make sense; I just wish that “saving my mental space” was my excuse for not being able to hold a thought in my brain for longer than a few seconds. 😉

      Like

  5. too funny. but seriously cute.

    Like

  6. Touch2Touch says:

    Maybe it’s genetic????
    😉
    This is why I still keep my old Franklin Planner. I want the bulky organizer right there in my hand, knowing it will remember things for me.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I would totally play a “genetics” card, EXCEPT for the fact that my dad has a photographic memory. So, I can’t exactly put the blame on him. 🙂

      Like

  7. Yes, they sound like a great couple – anniversaries aren’t what’s important, it’s what they do every day together that is. Still, you’re a great sis to send the card. :+)

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I’m a believer in the marriage being more important than the wedding day, so I like your approach to the 364 other days in the year being more important than the anniversary date. But yes, I still like to celebrate and let other people know I’m thinking about them. 🙂

      Like

  8. narami says:

    I have to write down everything I need to do or need to remember for daily living. I remember all the names of my third grade classmates, but if I don’t live on to-do lists I can’t manage as an adult. I would forget to pay everything, and do the laundry… And at work? I work with an arsenal of post-it’s and Sharpie’s and red pens and the like to manage documentation.

    This is my confession.

    Like

  9. Sylvia Bell says:

    Like mother, like daughter. I learned something new about Erica and Rick today…too funny! Your Dad and I have never (in 40 years) remembered our anniversary on the day of the anniversary. I am proud to say, that our streak is intact, as we again both forgot it this year. You reminded us of it. In the early years it was Grandma Bell who was the one to remind us, now that mantle has fallen on your shoulders. Ah – a heavy burden, but one that I know you can handle.

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

