#5: Go to the city’s farmers market

I only recently realized how much of an impact physical place can have on a person. Some environments feel very comfortable to me, while others feel foreign and awkward. I grew up in Indiana, a state that is in a section of land called “the Midwest”. The Midwest has a very distinct topography, climate, and culture to it: The physical earth is generally flat or very mildly hilly, and the soil is nutrient-rich and very suitable for farming (which, until relatively recently, was the primary vocation of many Midwestern residents). All four climactic seasons occur in each state in the Midwest, though to varying degrees of severity. People who are born and raised in the Midwest tend to be hard-working, practical, down-to-earth individuals (though of course exceptions will always exist). Still, certain generalities can be made about the overall “feel” one would expect to sense when visiting (or living in) any of the 12 Midwestern states. So while I now live more than 500 miles from my home town, my current home state shares many resemblances to the environment of my youth; as a result, it feels ‘like home’ to me.

While winter in my current hometown can be brutal (though the citizens here have found many clever ways to not only deal with it, but thrive in it, even enjoy it [!]), fall, spring, and summer, do their best to compensate for the difficult experiences that winter can deliver. In autumn the trees treat us to a spectacular show of fall color: vibrant reds, yellows, oranges, and various shades in between blanket neighborhoods, fields, and forests in amazing hues. Spring delivers lots of rain, true – but also grass as green as Ireland, and lilacs, freesia, and other blooms that literally perfume the air. And summer yields not only long days of bright blue skies and brilliant sunshine, but lots and lots of fresh produce.

In fact, the growing season is so robust that farm-direct vegetables and fruits are sold in gatherings all over the metro area. These “farmer’s markets” occur every day of the week, in parking lots, at colleges, next to museums – even on some busy downtown streets. Indeed, during these past many years with my employer, I have spent numerous Thursday lunch hours (from May to October) strolling one of the main downtown roads, perusing various farmer’s wares.

Last year the suburb my sweetie and I live in decided to add their own farmer’s market to the mix of existing offerings. The hyper-local market opened last July; and every week I said to myself, “I should really get over to the new market and check it out…” I wanted to support the people in my community who do such an important job (i.e., create food for all of us to eat), and I also wanted to show the city that we residents really do value and appreciate these wonderful amenities that our local government employees work to create. I wanted the market to not only survive, but thrive; and I knew people just like me would be the ones who would help make (or break) the new venture.

But as the summer kicked into full swing my life got busy; and despite my good ‘intentions’, I simply never took the time or made the effort to visit the new market. July gave way to August, which yielded to September, which quickly surrendered to October – and by the time I was ‘getting ready’ to visit the market, it was over. Amazing how quickly time moves.

I didn’t want to allow the same inertia to occur this year, so “Go to the city’s farmer’s market” was one of the first items I put on my 101 list.  Having learned from last summer’s procrastinating ways, I took advantage of some personal time this past Wednesday, left work a little bit early, and made my way to the parking lot of the local fitness center – where the market was in full swing.

Nearly 30 vendors, all located within 60 miles of the city, stood beneath big white canopies, showcasing their beautiful wares. As I approached the first tent I inhaled deeply, soaking in the powerful scents of fresh herbs and the earthy notes of sun-warmed vegetables. Along the perimeter of the market were vendors selling ready-made products: things like kettle corn, ice cream, smoothies, breads. Moving closer to the center of the market, the next ring of vendors sold packaged products: items like infused olive oils, balsamic vinegars, honey, granola, salsas, jams, relishes. In the core of the market stood stalls that sold fresh-from-the-ground produce: melons, berries, peppers, onions, garlic, cucumbers, radishes, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, beans, eggplants, zucchini, squash, potatoes, tomatoes, beets… Nearly every imaginable seasonal produce item was present. Incredible.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I took my time strolling from one stall to the next, delighting in the organic foods before me. I smiled at the vendors, and listened to their spiels. I longed to buy one of everything being sold; but in the end, I actually walked away from the scene empty-handed. Even if I ate nothing but fruits and vegetables, I still wouldn’t be able to consume most of the foods in the quantities being sold at the market. I don’t need five tomatoes, I need one. A large eggplant would feed me for a week – but I don’t enjoy dining on eggplant seven days in a row. Melons tend to spoil before I’m able to finish the entire fruit. And so on.

Though I parted from the market without any food, I didn’t leave disappointed. Instead, I walked away from the place inspired. The idea of my own home garden once again snuck into my mind – but this time the undertaking didn’t seem quite so daunting. So who knows, maybe this time next year I’ll have a tiny “farmer’s market” of my own…? 🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001, day zero project, postaday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to #5: Go to the city’s farmers market

  1. Next time, you just need to go to the market and split your purchases! I love farmer’s markets but they can be a little pricey. I have one in my town but haven’t been (people told me it was very big) but I’ve done other local ones and the produce is definitely better quality and taste than anything you can get at the store. Gardening can be very rewarding but also very challenging, especially when you have to fight against nature when it comes to who will eat the food first…

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Farmer’s market produce is hands-down tastier than grocery store stuff, no question.
      If I do start a garden, I will absolutely put fencing around it – otherwise I stand zero chance against all of the critters who live around our home.

      Like

  2. rutheh says:

    Colorful slideshow! So enticing.
    I bet they would sell you a single tomato and look for a single Japanese eggplant like a banana- not bitter at all.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Ruth, every time you compliment any photos I take, I feel so incredibly flattered. (Truly.) Thank you!
      I’ll have to keep my eyes open for a Japanese eggplant – I don’t think I’ve ever had one. (Every eggplant I’ve ever consumed has been pretty darn bitter.)

      Like

  3. I love to visit our farmers’ markets here in California. The fruits are so much different than I ever grew up knowing. Yet, in a recent trip back the Midwest, I was once again reminded the sweet corn grown and sold there by local farmers is the best in the world! I’ve never found any better.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Midwestern sweet corn is amazing – I fully agree. (And I think the strawberries and tomatoes here are also second to none.)

      What fruits are unique to CA? Have you acquired a taste for them?

      Like

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    Are you sure you can’t buy small quantities? It’s possible to do so at every farmer’s market I’ve been to (and we have a LOT around here). The produce really does taste wonderful, it tastes of sunshine and the earth.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      All of the produce at farmer’s markets here is packaged in “grab and go” containers with pre-set prices; and most vendors are not overly happy to change them up on the fly. I suppose if I asked very nicely I could maybe arrange a deal; but I’m not a big fan of ‘haggling’…

      Like

      • Touch2Touch says:

        Hmmm, that IS different from here. A lot of stuff is in pre-packaged containers. But usually there’s also produce in bulk, so you can buy one or two of something. Otherwise it does make it harder — like you, we are two, and don’t have use for large quantities.

        Like

  5. Carla says:

    Love the pics of the baby eggplant and the flowers! One option might be to prepare a bunch of meals and freeze them – thus not having to eat the same thing all week – but you probably thought of that. We sometimes have to hustle to finish the produce I get from the farmers’ market – sometimes I cut up and freeze the fruit for smoothies or desserts. Yay for local food!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I did think about preparing and freezing the produce – but for me, part of the purpose of shopping at a farmer’s market is to eat the food fresh, not frozen-then-thawed. 🙂 I’m glad you liked the pictures! It really was a beautiful market.

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

