Help Not Wanted

I am over halfway through a two-month-long hospice volunteer training program.  This evening I attended session #5, where one of the tasks each person in our group needed to complete was to receive (then pass) a tuberculosis test.  The volunteer coordinator arranged for a few nurses to attend the first 20 minutes of our training session, so that we could all line up, expose our arms, and receive a small injection (which will then be “read” in 2-3 days).  I was near the back of the line, and as my turn approached, the volunteer coordinator commented, “You know, I’m kind of surprised – no one has passed out or protested yet.  Usually we get at least one person in every group who has some sort of issue…”

As I approached the nursing table where the volunteer coordinator stood close by, I casually commented, “Well, I mean, I could throw a fit if you’d like.  I can do everything from stomp and yell to faint or vomit – do you have a preference?”

The volunteer coordinator (an older lady who possesses a very literal interpretation of the world) looked at me with a confused expression on her face – whereas the entire crew of nurses burst into hearty laughter.  Happy that at least some other person understood my dry sense of humor, I smiled back at them while I heard the volunteer coordinator quickly respond, “No no, I’d prefer if we didn’t have any issues tonight…”

Okay, if you say so.  I was just trying to be accommodating.  🙂

tantrum

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in postaday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Help Not Wanted

  1. Pingback: Day 388 | Three Daily Delights

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    My French conversation teacher has a dry sense of humor like yours —
    She’s more than once come into class with a wry story of a situation it just plunged her into!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I sometimes have to be careful about my sense of humor – some people don’t know how to take it, and it can end up offending when I don’t mean for it to…. But more and more, I just trust myself in the situation – and if I inadvertently upset someone, I apologize, then move on. 🙂

      Like

  3. Arman says:

    hahahaa… I loved that sense of humor 🙂

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

