#33: Visit Historic Fort Snelling (Part 2)

[Click here to read the introduction to this post.]

The very first thing I saw when I walked from the parking lot to the fort’s entrance:

01_entrance

After I checked in with the main desk, I walked down a gravel path towards the actual fort – but stopped when I saw a wedding photo shoot taking place:

02_wedding

If you look very closely, you can see a hint of the bride’s white dress.

Learning began before I even entered the main entrance to the fort:

03_garden at entrance

A somewhat scrawny corn field – but I imagine this is probably what it really looked like during Civil War times:

04_scrawny corn

Ten minutes after arriving, I finally made it to the fort’s gate:

05_entrance

When I walked through the entrance, I was surprised to see “soldiers” standing post on the other side:

06_other side of entrance

Though it’s difficult to see, these men are dressed in Civil War (Union) uniforms.

07_fort map

The official map of the site, should you want to orient yourself to the space.

A fun chap stood post at the welcome map, giving visitors our first real taste of the day ahead.  (He played “Yankee Doodle Dandy” on his flute – awesome.)

08_fort map guide

The view of the right side of the fort (when standing at the main entrance).

09_right side of the fort

The stations were laid out so that we moved clockwise around the fort.  Our first stop was the recruiting station (naturally).  I love the “selling points” on this sign.

01_sign

Soon after I arrived, a small troop of Boy Scouts began exploring the fort.  The re-enactor stationed at the Recruiting Station post immediately descended on the kids, and asked them if they wanted to join the army.  When they said “No”, he immediately chastised them, yelling, “What?!  Look at the benefits! [Pointing to the sign.] Free food!  Free clothes!  Free medicine!  Sounds wonderful, doesn’t it! Yes it does!  Come inside gentlemen.” The troop leader smiled at the re-enactor, then looked at the boys and said, “Yup, this is how life was back in the 1800s.  Time to go inside and get signed up for your service.”

02_boyscouts

For the individuals who didn’t “want” to serve their country, the next stop on the tour was where they landed:

01_guardhouse sign

This re-enactor stood post outside the jail (the space off to the far right of this picture).

02_guardhouse guide

Public shaming was a big part of a prisoner’s punishment:

03_signs

04_sign

Perhaps the worst sign of all.

I stepped into one of the “solitary confinement” jail cells.  If you look very closely, you might be able to see the brick walls.  The cell was 10′ x 7′ – and I can’t imagine spending any substantial period of time in there.  I think I would crack after just a day or two.

05_solitary

I turned my camera’s flash on to try and get a better picture of the cell. Brick walls and a wood floor – and nothing else.  (Not even a hole in the ground to serve as a toilet…)

06_solitary with flash

[Click here to read more about my visit to the fort.]

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001, day zero project, postaday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

