#87: Make ice cream in a bag

With the insanely hot weather we have been having these past few weeks, I figured this was a good time to engage in some cooling activity – and making ice cream felt like a natural fit. ๐Ÿ™‚

As I have explained before, I’m a big fan of this sweet treat. Yet finding ready-made ice cream that contains no artificial chemicals is not easy. So I considered making my own ice cream – but every recipe I found contained this line somewhere in the directions: “Transfer the mixture to the ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturerโ€™s instructions.” I value my health, but I also respect my finances – and I didn’t want to pay $200-$500 for a machine whose sole function is making ice cream. The result?ย  No homemade ice cream for me.ย  Sad.ย  ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

However, a few weeks ago I was flipping through a children’s magazine and stumbled on a “low-tech” ice cream recipe – it used plastic baggies as the primary hardware for concocting the cold dessert. Seeing as how the recipe was designed to be simple enough for a child to complete successfully, I figured I had a decent shot at a positive outcome, too.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

So on my regular grocery store run last week, I picked up a few items that don’t often find their way into my cart: half-and-half, coarse salt, and ice cubes. For less than $5, I was ready for my Great Ice Cream Experiment. Let the fun begin!

The first flavor I decided to make was vanilla. I wanted to become proficient in the ice-cream-making method before I went crazy with flavors – so vanilla seemed like a nice, safe place to start.

I opened a pint size zip-top plastic baggie, and added 1 cup of half-and-half, 1 packet of sweetener, and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I sealed the baggie tightly, then set it aside. Next, I opened a gallon-size zip-top plastic bag, added 1/2 cup of coarse salt, then filled the bag half-way with ice cubes. I then placed the pint-size ingredient-containing bag on top of the ice, and sealed the gallon size bag. Next, I inverted the gallon-size bag (so that the zip-top was now facing the ground, and put that bag in a second gallon zip-top bag. (This was my attempt at providing myself a bit of “insurance”; I could just imagine the single gallon bag accidentally opening during the next step, and having ice/salt/cream fly everywhere. That’s a mess I prefer to not have to clean.) With the bag structures securely closed, I put oven mitts on my hands (to protect them from the uncomfortable cold caused by the ice/salt interaction), grabbed the top of the exterior baggie’s seal with my right hand (to triple-confirm that it would stay closed for the duration), and started vigorously shaking the trio of bags. And I mean to tell you, I really got into it. My arms were pumping side-to-side and up-and-down, my chest followed the motions and got into the activity, even my hips and booty found their way into the act. I shook, and shook, and shook some more; I shook the mixture for a full five minutes. (Which may not seem like a long time, but let me assure you – it is. I definitely felt like I worked for this food!)

When the shaking came to an end, I opened the big bags and pulled out the little bag. I peered inside… and I’ll be damned:

The whole set up…

…produced this…

…which yielded this!

I made ice cream! ๐Ÿ™‚

Tentatively, I tasted this first attempt – and was really quite impressed. The consistency of the ice cream was very soft, but the flavor was pretty good. Yet after just two bites, the dessert had melted so much that it was more liquid than solid – so I popped the baggie into the freezer and let it stay there for a few hours. When I re-tasted the treat later in the afternoon, I was happy to discover that the cream had solidified into a firmer state, yet was still smooth and easy to dig a spoon into. But as I ate more of the now-colder ice cream, I found that some of the flavor had been “dulled” (which is actually to be expected – the colder a food gets, the more potency the ingredients need to provide to compensate for the ‘deadening’ effect of the temperature drop). Now finding the flavor a bit lacking, I wanted to try the recipe again, to see if I could make a bowl of ice cream that had both good texture and good flavor. Hmm… I feel some experimentation coming on. (And a wave of applesauce deja vu….)

For my second attempt at the ice cream, I doubled the amount of sweetener and vanilla extract used – and the result was very pleasing to me. The texture remained good, the taste improved – and I had the bonus advantage of knowing exactly what was in my food. Whoever thought I could feel healthy (and almost virtuous) eating a dessert? ๐Ÿ™‚

Getting basic vanilla ice cream to a good place was a fun first victory. But there’s a whole world of flavor out there, just waiting to be tried… and I’m a curious gal… so let the ice cream exploration continue…

For my next serving of ice cream (which occurred the very next day), I swapped out the vanilla extract with mint extract – and made a wonderful mint ice cream. I love that the flavor of the mint wasn’t overpowering – and that my ice cream was white instead of neon green. Next time I might even add some mini chocolate chips, and create an authentic mint-chip variety.

The next day (seriously, I can eat ice cream every single day [and some weeks I do just that]) I replaced the vanilla extract with rum extract, and made a terrific dessert that reminded me of a daiquiri drink. I then took the dessert one step further, and drizzled dark chocolate sauce over the ice cream – and made what tasted like a frozen white Russian. Oh my. This one is definitely a treat for the adults in the family. ๐Ÿ™‚

At this point in the experimentation I ran out of both half-and-half and ice; so my period of ice cream innovation has come to a pause. But I have many more flavors I want to try. For example, I’d like to pursue the domains of chocolate, coffee, chocolate+coffee, coconut, coconut+rum, coconut+rum+chocolate, strawberry, butter-pecan, peanut butter+chocolate… I have no shortage of ideas.

Looks like I better get shopping. ๐Ÿ™‚

Stef

P.S. If you choose to try making ice cream (and if you like ice cream, and/or you have kids [or grandkids, or nieces/nephews, or young cousins, or you babysit…], I seriously suggest you give this a whirl – I found it very rewarding to eat something *I* created using very basic ingredients and tools; and I suspect kids would have a super-fun time shaking their dessert and witnessing the chemistry that takes place with this food), I have one tip to consider: When you remove the little pint-size bag from the big gallon one, wipe the little bag down with a damp cloth before you begin to extract the ice cream. Otherwise, salt may cling to the exterior of the bag, and then find its way into your ice cream as you transfer the dessert into a bowl. (In the course of my experimentation, I may have had a serving of vanilla ice cream that tasted like it was allowed to rest on a salt lick for a bit. Just sayin’…) ๐Ÿ˜‰

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001, day zero project, postaday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to #87: Make ice cream in a bag

  1. How fun! I have an ice cream maker and we pull it out sometimes in the summer to make our ice cream. Simple ingredients, our own recipes and it only takes 20 minutes (and no workout!). I should try your recipe when I see my kids with too much energy. That would keep them busy for a while…

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Definitely use the method I’ve described to help balance some high-energy kids. Just don’t let them eat the product they make. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

    • Stef says:

      P.S. What is your favorite recipe (or two) you like to use when you make ice cream?

      Like

      • In the summer, we prefer smoothies with berries of all kind. If we make ice cream in the summer, we use similar berries, or my favorite strawberry/banana. Other times we splurge for chocolate ice cream with chocolate chips. I never have little marshmallows but it would be great to add for a Rocky Road flavor without the nuts.

        Like

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    I’d seen this recipe quite a while ago and always thought it would be fun to try — but never quite got around to it.
    (There’s an item everyone needs in their closet, a round tuit!)
    Your post may do the trick!!!! So happy to know it worked.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I’ll admit it took me a minute to comprehend what you meant by “a round tuit” (I was thinking it was a French phrase I hadn’t ever learned) – but then when I got it, I laughed out loud. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. we found a small hamilton beech ice cream maker at target on clearance for $15 (regularly $30). the professor’s made old fashioned vanilla and strawberry sherbet so far, and both have been awesome! we were pleasantly surprised to get such great results from an inexpensive machine. (also, one of the benefits of it being fairly small is that it makes small batches, so none goes to waste!)
    we’ll have to give the bag method a shot, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Good to know! I may have to keep my eyes open for a cheapie clearance deal. I’m a fan of small batches; then they can be called “artisan”. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Seriously, I would totally make more ice cream if I didn’t have to shake bags for 5 full minutes every time I wanted some… It’s fun, but a bit taxing. More cool to do with kids than to do because you just want some ice cream.

      Like

  4. narami says:

    I’ll try this asap, looks super fun!

    Like

  5. Interesting. I grew up in a family where we made our own ice cream every Sunday afternoon. Then I went off to college. End of Sunday afternoon ice cream making, but not the end of Sunday afternoon ice cream. I just let other people make it now……..lol

    Like

    • Stef says:

      How did you make your family make your ice cream? What was your favorite flavor? What was the ‘best’ flavor you all ever made? What flavors (and brands) do you prefer now?

      Like

      • We had one of manual ice cream makers, so after my wise old grandmother mixed all the ingredients, we put it in the ice cream maker, poured ice and ice cream salt around the sides, and each of us took turns rotating the handle. Eventually we got an electric ice cream maker. That was heaven!

        We only ever made vanilla and chocolate ice cream. I think back in those days we didn’t know that you could have more flavors……..lol

        I’m pretty much prefer plain ice cream: cookies and cream’s my favorite, followed by strawberries and cream and then vanilla and chocolate.

        My favorite ice cream is Blue Bell. It’s from a small creamery in Brenham, Texas. During my freshman year at Texas A&M University, across from the Forestry Building was a huge Blue Bell ice cream building. The owners and operators of Blue Bell are long time Aggies. There is none that compares with the smooth, rich, creamy flavor of Blue Bell.

        Next is Dreyer’s, which Costco carries at a very reasonable price of $3.48 for 1ยฝ quarts.

        After those two, they all pretty much taste the same: bland.

        Like

      • Stef says:

        I actually do know about Blue Bell ice cream, believe it or not; but I don’t think I’ve ever had it… If I ever find myself in Texas again, I’ll be sure to seek it out.

        The only brands of ice cream I eat any more are Ben & Jerry’s and Breyers – which I’m not sure if it is related to Dreyers or not. (I know the same brands are sometimes called different things in different parts of the country…) I’m a fan of a whole host of different flavors; lots of crazy ones from B&J, and some of the more ‘natural’ ones from Breyers (vanilla, mint chip, butter pecan, cherry vanilla, coffee, Neapolitan, raspberry chocolate… all so good. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  6. Pingback: #63: Eat a raw-food meal | Smile, kiddo.

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

