What I like about me

One of my writing friends achieved a milestone with her blog today – she published her 100th post.  (Woot!)  To celebrate her accomplishment, she decided to celebrate herself – and she loudly and proudly wrote 10 things she likes about herself.  Then, to keep the good times rolling, she asked her readers who have blogs if they would play along and  participate in the activity as well.  So, in honor of Miss Jennie’s big day, here are 10 things I like about my own self:

  1. I try my best and give my all – no matter how “unimportant” the task at hand may be.
  2. I notice little moments, and I take the time and make the effort to share them, so that other people might enjoy them as well.
  3. I support other people whenever and however I can.
  4. I volunteer, simply because I believe it’s the “right” thing to do in life.
  5. I’m a fantastic listener.
  6. I’m always on the lookout for things to learn.
  7. I’m brave. (#11, 16, 69…)
  8. I’m action-oriented.  Even (especially?) when things might be uncomfortable, I suck it up and go for it anyway.
  9. I love.  Even when it’s risky to do so, I can’t help myself.  I love.
  10. I can write this list with ease.  Up until a few years ago I would have struggled with this task; today, I banged it out in just 10 minutes.  I’m proud of how much I’ve grown.  🙂

Jennie, thank you for being a force for good in the world.  I’m more than happy to play along with you.

Friend, readers, Romans – lend me your likes.  🙂  What do you like about YOU?  Share a comment – or write a whole post about it.  If you decide to publish a little somethin’-somethin’, I’ll link to it below.  (And I bet Jennie might just do the same, too.)

i-like-myself

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in postaday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What I like about me

  1. Jennie Saia says:

    You are brave! Loving is the bravest thing we can do. 🙂

    And I thoroughly enjoyed seeing all the “DONE!” markers on your to-experience list!

    Like

  2. I’d love it if you took a couple minutes to read my “10 things I like about me list”! I’m not quite sure how to link yours to mine, but I can sure try!

    (Hi Hipster! I edited your comment to include this link to your list: http://thenotsohipsterlifeofahighschooler.wordpress.com/2014/02/21/i-heard-there-was-a-revolutionso-i-signed-up/ I hope you don’t mind.) 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I did read your list – and left a comment on your blog. 🙂 That is really great stuff! But I only saw 5 items – did I miss the other half of the list?

      Like

  3. Dee says:

    Your list made me smile. I think there are many things to like about you, not least your admission at number 10 that to write your list would not have been possible a few years ago. I find that in life it’s small acts of kindness that make the difference, but then you already know that – right?
    I enjoyed reading your blog and will be back for more
    Dee

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Dee, thank you very much for your thoughtful comments, and your lovely support. Yes, it many moments of kindness that comprise a well-lived life. (IMO) 🙂

      I look forward to seeing you around the blogosphere. You’re always welcome here!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Shiny Happy People | kissmeoutofdesire

  5. Pingback: Dear me, I love you. | rarasaur

  6. Meg Evans says:

    Yes, when you celebrate what you love about yourself, then it’s easier to be kind and cheerful toward others, and they feel happier being around you, so it’s all good! And ditto to Jennie’s comment about enjoying your lists.

    As for sharing something I like about myself, I’m proud of sticking with my New Year’s resolution to discover and comment on a positive blog every day of 2014. Your site is today’s entry on the list I am keeping on my blog, and you definitely gave me a smile as intended. 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Meg, I love your resolution! How fun it must be to visit so many different sites over the course of a year; and you sharing your positive thoughts certainly is appreciated. Many thanks! I’m delighted to be one of your entries. 🙂

      Like

  7. Pingback: My School Neighbor Gave Me These- Said They Look Like Me | Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  8. Touch2Touch says:

    Brave, resolute, determined, curious, open —
    Five things I like about YOU!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Aw, thank you so much Judith! Have you written (or are you going to write) a similar post stating what you like about YOU? I’d love to comment on it. 🙂

      Like

  9. Its great you are you! and if not, I would still like you! 🙂 🙂

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!