Get ready… Get set…

…get puppies!

A year after losing our 14-year-old dog, my sweetie and I were ready to welcome some new animals into our lives.

At the beginning of this month my husband and I went to a pet adoption monthly event hosted by a local animal rescue organization. At the gathering, we were introduced to Jojo, the smaller dog in the picture above (on the left). I bonded with Jojo pretty much instantly (and my husband wasn’t far behind) – but both my sweetie and I didn’t see a second animal at the event that felt like a good fit for us. We knew we wanted to get two dogs (as we wanted our animals to have a friend to hang out with while we humans were away at work for 9 hours each day), and we preferred to get both animals at the same time (to minimize as many introduction/integration issues as possible). I explained all of this to Jojo’s foster mom, and she let us know that Jojo actually had a brother (Charlie), who was currently living with a different foster family. It turns out that Jojo and Charlie were both 11 years old, and until two months ago had been living together with an older woman. The previous owner became ill and could no longer care for the two dogs, so she surrendered them to the rescue organization. At the time of the surrender, no foster families could take both dogs – so Charlie and Jojo were sent separate ways. The rescue organization ideally wanted a “forever family” to take both of the animals (which I completely understand – think if your sibling was suddenly and unexpectedly pulled away from you after 11 years) – but the rescue volunteers weren’t sure they would be able to find anyone who 1) wanted two animals, and 2) wanted two senior animals.

Enter my husband and I. We were actively looking for (planning on) two animals; and senior dogs seem to be our karma. (We adopted our previous pet when she was 10 years old.) Learning of Jojo’s brother sealed the deal for us; and now, we have two new members in our small-yet-loving little family.

I’m working very hard to not spoil these boys – but I’m having to work at it. πŸ™‚ Welcome to the family kiddos!

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Get ready… Get set…

  1. Congratulations! They’re adorable! What kind of dogs are they?

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thank you Melanie! They are miniature poodles; and they are smart, sweet boys. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • I LOVE poodles! Not only are they smart and sweet, they also don’t shed! I have two poodle mixes myselfβ€”my chocolate labradoodle Moose, and my little white Lhasa-poodle Mac. Love them!

        Like

      • Stef says:

        The no shedding is definitely a bonus. Our previous dog did shed (long, white locks), and we loved her – but got very used to removing pet hair from our clothing. The fact that these guys don’t shed is a nice change of pace. πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. jodi says:

    oh, what sweeties! how wonderful that you were able to keep them together.

    Like

  3. Very nice (re)meeting you at the event. Sorry my girl was not a fit but soooo glad these boys got adopted together! And luckily another family found her and adopted her =) Congrats!!

    Like

  4. barb19 says:

    Congrats on the new members of your family Stef! They look gorgeous, and it’s so good that you were able to take both brothers so they can continue to be together. A happy ending for all!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks Barb! They are very good looking boys, and we are also happy that they get to stay together. It’s very clear that they love each other a lot – they look out for one another, and travel as a pack. It’s cool. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. First of all, congrats on your two furbabies, secondly, good for you, for turning to a rescue group….I hope your story is an inspiration for everyone, interested in getting a pet, esp. for those Seniors, that people don’t want….and getting two is awesome…..have fun with you new babies…they are adorable. I have 3 dogs, a Havanese, a shih-tzu – my shih-tzu was surrendered by his owner and he got along so good with my havanese, that we took him and has been with us for 3 years now…and I also failed fostering 101, first time in 12 dogs that I have fostered, she is a 5 yr. old yorkie, who is so sweet and adorable, just came from a puppy mill about 2 months ago…so, now, with the 3, my family is having a ball. I also petsit small dogs only in my home…and loving it. There are so many puppy mill dogs that are available., and I hope anyone who wants a dog, please, please don’t be afraid of a puppy mill dog, puppy or senior…they want your love and will do anything for that…….Stef, congrats and enjoy them……..Sharon

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thank you Sharon! We have had very good ‘luck’ with senior dogs – they have come to us well-trained, calm-yet-still-appropriately-playful, and as lovey as can be. And puppy mill dogs – so, so sad. Ever since I was small I have only ever had animals from a shelter or rescue organization; they are so many animals that need a good home, I’m happy to do a very small part and provide what I can. πŸ™‚

      I think it’s FABULOUS that you chose to foster a dog – BIG kudos to you!

      Like

  6. April says:

    we where charlies fosters and he was such a wonderful little guy! he was my buddy! was hard to let him go but I am so incredibly happy to read this and kno that he is with JOJO and has such WONDERFUL parents! Bless You Both!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      April, thank you so much for fostering Charlie – both my husband and I *truly* appreciate all you did for him. He is a cutie; we are enjoying getting to know these two very sweet boys. πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. oh what a wonderful story. So lovely they got to be together. It’s hard for older dogs to find homes and even harder for two together. This is a wonderful thing that you have done. Kudos.

    Like

  8. Lia says:

    Oh, that’s so sweet! And I commend you and your husband for not only adopting, but adopting older dogs (and two at that!). I’m so very happy for your newly expanded family. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thank you Lia! My husband and I seem to have good karma when it comes to older dogs; though we don’t get to enjoy them “as long” as puppies, I think we get to enjoy them in their ‘better’ years! πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. Touch2Touch says:

    The karma flowing both ways, the two dogs a perfect fit for you guys, you guys a perfect fit for them.
    I definitely am a fan of happy endings.

    Like

  10. Well, I would say the universe did a perfect job setting this up! How fortunate for everyone concerned. I have spent a great deal of my adult life working on behalf of homeless animals and the fate of so many senior cats and dogs was the hardest part. Hooray for you, and husband, and Jojo and Charlie!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Karen, I admire the work you (and so many others) do on behalf of older, homeless animals. They are some of the ‘best’ pets to have – and I’m grateful to everyone who helps them. πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. Joanne says:

    Friday Dec. 30
    Hi !
    I was Charley’s foster mom from third week of November until this past Monday afternoon !
    Charley is the sweetest, cutest, most loveable little guy. LOTS of kisses & snuggles from him.
    Charley’s previous foster mom loved having him too……Charley is very popular !
    I know you will love having Charley & JoJo in your family. Senior dogs are the greatest !
    i adopted one of my personal dogs when he was 10 yrs old.
    Please pass the word along about the joy of adopting senior dogs, and most especially about adopting from a rescue group !!
    Thanks !
    Joanne

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Joanne, thank you for fostering Charlie for the past month; I truly appreciate it! He is a snuggler, that’s for sure.

      So far this blog post has received 226 views (in the past two days), so at least 200+ people have already read about the positive side of adopting senior animals – and I suspect more will click and read as the week progresses. So the word is getting out there. πŸ™‚

      Like

  12. rutheh says:

    What a wonderful story. Just makes me smile. I posted it on FB as I know a lot of friends who will enjoy reading how Charlie and Jojo got reunited and get to live together with you and your sweetie. I also enjoyed how you sequenced your photos to tell the story.
    They look content curled up together in their new bed.
    Wishing you a happy new year. Know it’s going to feel warm and cozy with those adorable boys happy to be with you now.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Ruth, thank you so much for sharing the story with your FB friends; I appreciate it!

      The boys seem very happy to be together again; they snuggle together on their bed, in their kennel, on my lap…. it’s quite a lovely feeling to have two small guys contently laying on my legs while I read a book. A great way to start the new year. πŸ™‚

      Like

  13. Hi Stef, what adorable puppies.

    Here’s wishing you a HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    Like

  14. Pingback: Two little (and one big) teacher(s) | Smile, kiddo.

  15. Christine says:

    Awww Stef, what a great story!!! The fact that you reunited the siblings took the story to another level altogether. Please excuse me while I go get a tissue – I am chopping onions over here (or possibly sobbing over the heartwarmingness of it all)

    Have a great New Year!

    Like

  16. narami says:

    Congratulations to the family!!! They are beautiful πŸ™‚

    Like

  17. Pingback: #77: Try a new flavor style of ice cream | Smile, kiddo.

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

