Wherever you go, there you are

It’s said that a person can’t outrun their karma; that if life is going poorly in one city/state/country, simply picking up and moving to a new location likely won’t solve the issue(s). People who attempt such “geographical cures” eventually realize that the issues they are experiencing usually have less to do with the external scenery, and more with their own internal state.

However, the concept of karma following a person works the other way, too. A person who lives peacefully and well will likely cultivate the same goodness in their life regardless of where they are living; that individual will likely experience harmony and ease no matter where they happen to call “home”.

For the past year+ I have been working to cultivate more gratitude, appreciation, and happiness in my life. Not that my life was bad a year ago – just that my internal state could have been better. So I started to actively take note of small, pleasant instances that sprung up before me each day; and within just a few months, the cumulative effects began to snowball. These days, moments of pleasant surprise, delight, and joy seem to seek me out, instead of the inverse.

Right now I am literally 1800 miles (2800 kilometers) from home. I don’t really know anyone in the town I’m visiting (except for my family), yet I’m maintaining the same practices I employ in my own city (i.e., smiling at strangers, expressing appreciation for people and things who help/support me, etc. etc.) This morning I headed out for a routine walk, and as I looked down to tie my shoe, I was honestly a little startled to see a smiling face grinning back up at me:

My surprise lasted less than a second; then I returned the pavement grin with one of my own. I’m delighted that I get to experience such fun, unexpected moments of delight – even while on vacation. πŸ™‚

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wherever you go, there you are

  1. Steffanie says:

    I wish I could hit the “like” button a dozen times! I’ve alway been a positive person but the last year has been the worst of my life, both personally and professionally. It’s been hard to stay positive in the mist of all that and it’s taking it’s toll. I find myself asking what in the heck did I ever do to deserve all that has come my way. I know this coming year will somehow be so much better!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Steffanie, I’m so sorry to hear of your difficult year. I actually have not always been a positive person – so when life turned poorly (as it does for all of us at times), I did NOT handle it well. And even when life was going along swimmingly, I could find some issue to obsess about…. Being positive is a much happier place for me to be – both in the good times, and the not-so-good times. I hope your good times find you again (and quickly) – and I know you will treasure them when they do arrive.

      Like

  2. There are smiles everywhere! πŸ™‚ I saw one on the back of a truck while I was driving this morning.

    Like

  3. barb19 says:

    I love the smile that greeted you from the pavement, and it made me smile knowing you smiled back at it! :D:D

    Like

    • Stef says:

      And I love how these smiles are contagious buggers. πŸ™‚ If I’m going to have to “catch” something from (or “spread” something to) someone, I think a smile is a terrific choice. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    Too much, Stef! De trop!

    The smile is indeed contagious, and you are spreading it around. Wonderful.

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

