For the lovers

A church near our house has a changeable message board on their front lawn, and every few days a new comment appears.  The statements offered are nearly always timely and clever, and I have laughed out loud at them more than once.  Yet sometimes a message also makes me pause and think; so I appreciate these notes not only for their ability to produce positive feelings, but also to generate a spirit of genuine inquiry.

Today as I drove past the sign, my eyes took in just five simple words: “Love and lovers welcome here.”

Along with casting our ballots for elected public officials, in a few months the citizens of the state I live in will also collectively decide whether marriage rights should be limited to a defined sub-population of individuals.  As November draws near, representatives on both sides of this emotional issue are becoming more vocal, more assertive, more certain that their choice is the correct one.

I smiled a sad smile when I read today’s church sign.  I smiled because I appreciate that a religious group who historically has not had overly-inclusive views was able to distill lots of rhetoric down to the real heart of the matter (pun intended); but my smile was twinged with a bit of sadness knowing that the sign was needed at all.

Yet for me, the beauty of this moment which prompted the smile trumps the sadness that surfaces when I have to acknowledge that prejudice still exists in a variety of forms.  For me, love wins.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in postaday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For the lovers

  1. rutheh says:

    Wish there were a “love” button to click on the blog post today! Love, love, love. All you need is love. What the world needs now……….

    Like

    • Stef says:

      “Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.” ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

      “The day the power of love overrules the love of power, the world will know peace.” ~Mahatma Gandhi

      “No matter the question, the answer is love.” ~Me 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

