Postal phenomenon

I’m not a big fan of the post office.  Now, let’s be clear: I do appreciate the postal system.  And I am a fan of our mail carriers; the two gentlemen who ensure our mail arrives every day (even in 15 inches of snow, and torrential downpours, and 95+ degree heat) are considerate, polite, and reliable. But the actual post office itself – well, it leaves something to be desired.

I only go to the post office on occasion (perhaps just a few times a year); but whenever I do go, it’s usually packed with customers impatiently waiting to be served, and staffed by just one or two people who often seem to need assistance to complete the task before them.  When I finally get to arrive at the counter, the postal employee is routinely unable to help me – either the office has just run out of whatever I came in for, or the person who takes care of the task I need assistance with is away and won’t be back until tomorrow, or I don’t have the proper documentation to pick up whatever mysterious package waits for me and I have to return with three forms of ID….

Yeah, frequently I get annoyed at the post office.

And today, I had to go there.

After internally debating if I really need postcard stamps, I resigned myself to the fact that yes, I do.  And the only place to get them is the post office.

So c’mon Stef, let’s go.

I sighed; then got in my car, drove to the local station, and went inside.

As I opened the door to the lobby, I literally did a slight double-take.  No lines.  None.
I walked right up to the counter.

A postal worker greeted me warmly.  And smiled.  And asked how he could help.
And he was sincere as he offered the question.

“Um…”, I started, honestly a little shaken by this alternate-reality experience I was having.  “Um, I need postcard stamps, please.”

The man replied, “Sure, we have plenty.  How many do you need?”

“Um…”, I started again, sounding not-very-intelligent.  “Um, a sheet?”

The man withdrew a sheet of postcard stamps from his drawer, swiftly rang me up, gave me correct change back, and wished me a good day.

I gingerly picked up the stamps and the money, and walked out the door, still a little dazed.

Once I was back in my car, and had processed all that just occurred…I smiled.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Postal phenomenon

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    For once we diverge in experience, Stef! Your post is a lively funny account —
    but your nice second half of it is our daily routine here! We love to go to our “local” post office (next town over, but physically closer), where we have a P.O. box (as the community we live in doesn’t deliver mail, believe it or not). The four employees there are the NICEST people in the world. They are always smiling, helpful, conversational, knowledgeable — I can’t say enough good things about them. Lenox Post Office, You Are the Greatest!
    When we first moved up here from Long Island almost ten years ago, I grant you we were in shock for quite a while, because our experience until then had actually been just as you describe it.
    So we’re a little sad about our coming move (about an hour east over the mountain, nearer to Boston) because we’ll be leaving behind our friendly post office, and we’re a little apprehensive that, moving to a bigger town, we’ll be returning to bigger problems again.
    But you sure gave me a chuckle! And since all it did today was shawl down snow, I’m very thankful for the smile, for you, and for your blog!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Judith, I’m inspired to hear about your regular post office experience; that infuses me with hope, and with brightness.

      And I’m delighted I was able to deliver a smile to you on a snowy day; that made my evening! 🙂

      Like

  2. carlaat says:

    Glad you had a good experience today. Just FYI, you can buy stamps online now! usps.com

    Like

  3. I’ve had similar problems with ID when collecting packages.
    Looks like karma was at play this time. 🙂
    Great to hear of a fellow postcard sender too.

    Like

  4. Hallysann says:

    Dropped by for a smile today and you didn’t disappoint …
    Thanks.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Special delivery | Smile, kiddo.

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!