Irony

An empty box currently sits on my cluttered desk.

(The items on my messy desk are as follows: the empty box, which is sitting on top of a page from a magazine that I want to file.  Moving clockwise there is a mug of cocoa I am enjoying, my iPhone cable that connects to my computer, a frog Buddha/meditation statue my mom gave me [every time I see it I think of her] {Hi mom!}, a lint brush, the printer, paperwork in a plastic file folder, an empty Tupperware container [I use it as a ‘catch and release’ device for spiders and ladybugs that sometimes find their way into my office], a yoga text book, and then we’re back to the box.)

The box used to hold bars of soap; its presence is a reminder that I need to place an order and replenish the supply.

My sweetie popped his head into the study where I sat typing, saw the box, and said, “You’re out of fancy soap.”  To which I replied, “Actually, it’s very plain soap. It’s free of chemicals and dyes and perfumes; but I can’t buy it in the store, I can only get it online.”

To which my sweetie replied, “Plain soap has to be specially-ordered; how ironic.”

And immediately I smiled.  It’s so true!  Just like the soap.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Irony

  1. rutheh says:

    I think I am going to have to get some and try it!
    Great post.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks Ruth! I think the soap is fabulous; I’ve been using it for over a year now, and love the way it cleans without over-drying my skin. And it’s very reasonably priced, especially considering that a single bar lasts me two months or so… I’m a fan. 🙂

      Like

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    Love that meditating frog!
    It arouses covetous thoughts (non-Buddhist)
    and frivolous thoughts (how about a sitting duck?)
    and is altogether terrific.

    Like

  3. John Aughey says:

    I love the frogooda statue.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks John! It was a completely unexpected, unrequested, unanticipated gift from my mom; and when I initially got it, I really didn’t know what to do with it. But it has made me smile more times than I can count. My mom knows what she is doing. 🙂

      Like

  4. Hanna says:

    I don’t get the irony… more explanation please… 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      The irony is that plain, simple soap can’t just be picked up easily at the store; special, ‘complicated’ efforts (like ordering it online) have to be made in order to get it. That’s the irony – a product so simple can only be gotten through un-simple means. Make sense?

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

