Perfect timing

A month or two ago one of my blogging friends commented about the children’s book Frederick by Leo Lionni.  I had never heard of the book; upon learning this, my friend urged me to get it and read it tout de suite! (i.e., right away.)  So that afternoon I requested a copy of the book from the library – then kind of forgot about it.

Earlier this week I received an email from the library stating that the book had arrived, and that I could pick it up any time.  So Friday I made my way to the library, and checked out this sweet little book.  I read about Frederick, a mouse who is a dreamer and a poet, and who knows that gathering up beauty and resilience to fortify himself during the long winter months is just as important as collecting food and hay.

Well.  Yesterday, our city experienced the first snowfall of the season.  As my sweetie and I carefully drove on slick roads, then faced strong winds and bone-chilling dampness, I thought of little Frederick – and of the friend who introduced him to me.  The sweetness of both of these ‘characters’ brought a lovely smile to my lips.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Perfect timing

  1. rutheh says:

    I teach the K-1 students to rip a mouse out of gray paper and add eyes, tail and feet. They love to make Frederick and then add a red flower. I show them a video about Leo Lionni and you might like his book Swimmy, too. One of our favorites at school. Happy first snowfall!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Your students are very lucky to have you as a teacher. Truly.

      I did read Swimmy, as well as Fish is Fish. Lionni definitely has his own style; he seems like a very intriguing man.

      Like

  2. sarahsal0106 says:

    Mr. Lionni was one of my favorite authors when I was in elementary school. He’s still my favorite children’s author. I read “Inch By Inch” every day for a month in 2nd Grade. Drove my mom nuts because I always wanted to read it our loud to her and my baby sister.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Sarah, that’s lovely. It amazes me the lasting power a skilled children’s author can have. (And rightfully so.) 🙂

      Thank you for coming by, and for commenting; I really appreciate it!

      Like

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    Mille remerciements, mon amie!
    I am so glad you have made Frederick’s acquaintance. He is charming, and so are you.

    Like

  4. I have not thought of that book for awhile now. What a great reminder to check it out from the library as we draw towards the winter months! Thank you for the terrific idea. I hope your winter passes quickly with a lot of beauty and resilience. Stay warm!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thank you for your kind words and well-wishes Tara! So far winter is off to a decent start; here’s hoping the sun rays and colors of summer fortify me during these next months. I suspect they will. 🙂

      Like

  5. Hi Stef,
    I’m here by way of Nancy at Spirit Lights the Way. She sent me a link to your Gratitude post and thought I might enjoy using it in my programs with children…but of course, I had to hop around your blog to see other stuff..and I came across this post. Frederick is one of the stories I recommend in my book and I use it in my kindergarten story and craft programs. It is an amazing story because it encourages children (and adults) to value the arts and poetry and dreaming. :
    If you get a chance, you can visit me at http://www.viviankirkfield.wordpress.com 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Vivian, thank you very much for stopping by, and for staying long enough to read a few entries and to comment! I’m truly honored. 🙂 I did stop by your blog, and love the positive emphasis you place on parenting. Good stuff. 🙂 Thanks again!

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

