Reader Appreciation

I really enjoy writing. The act of moving thoughts that are rattling around my brain, out through my fingers, and onto a page or screen just does ‘something’ for me – something that speaking, discussing, singing, and other forms of communication simply don’t provide. I write for myself in personal journals, I write for family and close friends via weekly emails, and I write for anyone who wants to connect with experiences and/or ideas I have to share via this blog.

I started this blog for no one in particular. One fall day I just felt nudged to start a journal of small, happy, kooky unexpected experiences that I found myself enjoying – and voila, this blog was born. The first few posts in this space were read only by a handful of family members and a few curious friends; but quite early on in this venture, strangers began finding this site, reading the posts, and leaving comments (as their time and interest allowed). Only a few months in to the life of this blog, I had made connections with a sampling of people from literally all over the world. It just goes to show the power of a smile, and the need for small, simple joys in our lives.

While I started this blog for no one/anyone, and while I still write posts largely for myself, I do love it when other people read what I have to say and feel compelled to write a brief response. The element of connection brings each entry I write full-circle, making it feel satisfying and complete – like a big bright beach ball gently bobbing against a gentle wave on a warm stretch of white sand.

Many other bloggers also appreciate their readers; so much so that many individuals post a “Reader Recognition” write-up from time to time. A few weeks ago, Ruth (a fellow online writer) mentioned me in a “Reader Appreciation” post, and encouraged me to craft a similar entry for my blog if I was so inclined. Not one to end a stream of good karma, I happily accepted her suggestion – and now present to all of you the top 5 commenters on this blog to date:

1) Judith at Touch2Touch: A woman who has lived a lot of life – and who nudges her readers to dig deeper into it.

2) Sharon at The Real Sharon: A southern gal who writes about whatever happens to be on her mind at the time.

3) Jonathan at What Did You Have For Dinner Last Night?: A Brit living in Spain, teaching English to kids, and writing a blog that is part memoir of his youth and part documentation for his own son.

4) Carla at One Wild And Precious Life: A 30-40-something living a fantastic life in New Orleans, and sharing the highlights of it with the rest of us.

5) Joss at Crowing Crone: A strong, determined lady in Canada, doing her best to fully embrace and live life – even amid pain, struggles, and the unknown.

Of course, there are many people who read my blog who have never written a comment – and that’s totally fine. Though we may not have a conversation in this space, please know that I feel your presence, I value your interest, and I cherish your smiles. It’s all good.

So, whether you were named above or not, if you’d like to craft a “thank you” post for your blog space, I think that would be cool. And if you don’t have a blog but still want to play, you could write a thank you note to someone in your life who deserves it (a spouse, child, friend, peer, boss, former teacher, mailman, trash collector… anyone who has helped you in some way in your life, no matter how big or how small). Bonus points if you hand write the note – and triple points if you use lovely stationary!

Thanks to all of YOU for reading; and of course thank you to anyone who wants to comment. Here’s to many more fun posts together. πŸ™‚

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Reader Appreciation

  1. barb19 says:

    Without our readers and followers here, it would be a pretty dull place to be. I love the interaction with them – it’s what makes it all worthwhile.
    Lovely post Stef.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I fully agree – writers need readers, and readers need writers. I value the dependencies, and appreciate the folks who make them possible. (Present company included.) πŸ™‚ Thanks Barb!

      Like

  2. rutheh says:

    Just yesterday a friend was over for tea and she looked at my floor in between the dining room and front hall and said , I will always see that smiling face in your floor. Thanks to YOU, Stef.
    Enjoyed reading today’s post and your thank you sign. And thanks for the ping back. Here’s to following your 2012 posts on Smile, Kiddo. Reading what you write is something I look forward to.
    Best
    Ruth

    Like

  3. Stef says:

    Ruth, you are incredibly kind! I love that your friend now sees smiles in her everyday life, too (even if they are in your house); that’s wonderful! I couldn’t ask for a better compliment. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. carlaat says:

    Thanks so much, Stef! Right back atcha! And full disclosure – I’m 44 . . . but I still feel not a day over 28 or so! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Stef says:

      20s, 30s, 40s – eh, whatever. Age is just a number. You live a youthful life – so that’s what counts in my book! But I do appreciate your honesty. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Hey, that’s me!

    Thanks Stef. Your shouts are always very much appreciated & an important injection of confidence that someone ‘out there’ gets me.

    Cheers for that. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Hey, that IS you! πŸ˜‰ Thank you for playing along with me; I, too, always feel a jolt of joy when someone responds to some of my writing with a feeling of recognition, understanding, and/or compassion. You frequently provide all three – and I truly thank you for that.

      Cheers right back atcha. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Touch2Touch says:

    Late catching up with this post — to busy living life-and-death!
    But thanks muchly, Stef. Among the things I’ve missed: your blog.
    And a thank-you post is a really good idea, I’ll mull it over and see what happens.

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

